"Bots voting" the new Steemit culture...

in #minnowsupport7 years ago (edited)

Is this the Steemit I came seeking? Why are the bots taking over? Are we giving up creativity for quick earnings?botsteem.png Of late there has been an influx of bots services here in Steemit and to many it is a welcome development. I am a part of one or two and so far, I have not really been able to get the full feel like I expected to get from one single usage of the bot. Well, I am sorry if I am being too out there and wanting to really exploit the bot voting service, but it just so happens to be the mainstay at the moment.

Every good invention or introduction of certain services bot voting as it is in this instance always comes at some price to the community at large. The price are in 2 and "the Good and the Bad", I will explain.

The Good

  1. Good and quick earnings. Steemit is the number ONE place to be now when it comes to blogging and earning. With bots voting for you (at the cost of a small token) you will quickly become the person who started out in Steemit less than a month ago and is already earning good money.
  2. You need not worry about what you write. With bot-voting services, there will not be that worry whether you have written something good enough to deserve an upvote. You will earn as much as the fee you pay for the bot's service and its that simple.
  3. You will keep earning and even become a Steemiliionaire.

The Bad

  1. Good earning will now become the order of the day and nothing else will matter to you because you have been inducted into the lazy earner's hall of fame. it is good to work little and earn more, but isn't the idea of Steemit about rewarding creativity?
  2. You will lose the hunger to create a classic. if you used to write with the hope of getting better at it, you will start losing that edge once you see the easy money that comes with minimal or no hard work. Writers who really put in their grind to get the stories out to the world will be replaced with Bot made writers who may accidentally become rich.

Need I say more? The whole Bot voting service is a good move especially for the newbies but it is also a bad one for these newbies who are supposed to be appraised for the work they do so that they will value the spirit that trails creative writing and thoughts rendering.

The Solution? You can use a bot service but don't forget to write like your life depends on it. Many people see a platform like this and get on with one thing on their mind..., quick money scheme. It is supposed to be much more than that and getting the strength to not sell out takes lots of guts and dedication to the game you rep.
When using the bots make sure to have something worth using the bot for because there will be a day, the good guys at Steemit will throw in a new policy to checkmate the operations of these bots and then you may have spent 1 year on Steemit without a single dedicated follower-ship

Maybe I should start a bot voting service myself.., hehehe. Won't you like that?
Encouraging creativity is what steemit is about, and the moment we allow the bots to take over, I will really regret pitching my tent here.

If you have something to say, please do and don't forget to upvote, follow and resteem.

Sort:  

As bots cannot be completely eradicated from steemit, i think all bot serblvices should not be permitted to vote as they actually and often bring imbalance. Also mechanisms can be used to control bots so that they can reduce the number and usage. I think with a maximum threshold of bots made, we will have only relevant bots and the site will be more loving.

i think so too

Do you really think that bots are sooo strong they can take over? I don't thinks so. As I know, there is no such bot network, or bot service, that can bring you a lot of money. Am I wrong? 🙂😜

Lovely. Let the Matrix begin.

Encouraging creativity is what steemit is about

THIS. THIS. THIS.

I am honestly not a fan of bots, they kind of screw over the humanity on Steemit.. Literally.

Yup. I totally agree lol. Like seriously, people can't do things themselves or what :D

It's a shame :( I am pro for bots when it comes to detecting stuff like @cheetah, but when it comes to simply upvoting because people don't want to do it themselves it's a shame.

Yup. @Cheetah, and @Randowhale (I think he's a bot :D)

But like it takes almost no time to manually up vote, and you will eventually just run out of power if you do too much.. So what's the point haha!

Yeah, @randowhale is a bot, haha.

I know. SInce HF19 it doesn't take long before you run out of VP. It's basically about detecting posts and trying to get the most curation rewards for it, I am guessing.

However, I prefer upvoting manually and support them on a more personal level.

Same. Social Networks were designed to be social.. A robot cannot have a meaningful conversation lol.. Apart of doing things manually is also engaging with people. I'll stick with that if you ask me! :D

Couldn't agree more!

This is pretty interesting. I see how the bots play a great role sometime but I agree its important to concentrate on creating good content. Nicely done! Team #minnowtowhale 👊🏼

thanks mate, seeing you having my back Team #minnowtowhale

A nice article deserves praise :)

I think they are far from taking over. And for many new people they probably do more bad than good. To get really good long term profits you need to build up your reputation, this will lead to people following you and always upvoting you. This will in turn lead to people automatically voting for your post in hope to vote before the rest to maximize the curation reward.
Have a look at some of the old steemit users and you will see this pattern. And it all starts with growing your reputation by producing quality material.

Encouraging creativity is what steemit is about, and the moment we allow the bots to take over, I will really regret pitching my tent here.

I strongly support!

Good thinking all, this days one hardly sees what he or she writes because of bot voting. lets not forget, without creativity bot voting won't be possible. CREATIVITY PAYS.

Not a bot reply, live person here typing and to say thanks for this post on bots.. I just used them for the first time, frustrated to write and knowing it will not get much viewership.. bots seem to me currently 'a necessary evil' can there be such a thing?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56