400 Followers in just over 30 days! Yippee! How did I do it?

in #minnowsupport7 years ago

Just a few days ago I celebrated my 1 Month Anniversary on STEEMit : 1 Month Anniversary on STEEMit - what have I accomplished? and now I have passed the 400 follower mark.

What is my secret?

  • Follow me, I will Follow you?

NOPE! I only followed a few people who asked that and I never asked that.

  • Follow everyone I see in hopes that they will follow me?

NOPE! I started doing that. Following bigger fish in hopes they would see my little tiny BoneFish self and give me a follow, but that's not what got me followers.

  • Create a giveaway and ask people to follow in order to win?

NOPE! Hey, I thought about it, but I didn't have the STEEM to do it. I followed some people who did that, but now I find that a bit tiresome. If I like what you are posting, then I will follow you.

So, what was your secret?

  1. I made the effort to post at least 4 articles a day. 2 of those articles would be repeating ones: Suspicious 0bservers Daily News and Color Challenge. The other articles would be of other things; whether it was videos I made or thoughts on something. I would also post some news articles and provide my commentary on that.
  2. I welcomed newbies... which I don't do as much now... but, I tried to provide a little more than "Hello. Welcome"
  3. I commented on articles that I thought were good or that I could provide a good comment for. I never just left "Good post" or similar comment spam. People can check your Comments and see if you keep repeating the same comments over and over and over again.
  4. I gave up trying to get followers. Yup. After 200 followers, it wasn't a priority anymore. If I continued to provide good content and good comments, then people would follow me.

So, don't worry about getting followers. Just focus on creating good content and participating in the community by commenting on other articles. From there, you will get a good following.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
SteemBadges-colorchallenge-150.jpgSteemBadges-filmmaking-150.jpggardenbadge-small.pngredFish.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

Great advice for everyone new on the platform on how to approach things. If you are here to produce your content you are in for the long run. Just randomly clicking likes and ask following for no reason can't do much good long term.

Yup...you'll get nowhere clicking and begging. You might get lucky, but it won't be long-term.

i follow a similar organic approach... well done!

Best way to get quality followers who will hopefully upvote your articles.

LOL Me I am still reading all the great postings! One day I may slow down and do a posting! Sharing for others to see how to do it!

thank you Weetreebonsai for resteeming I might never have seen this post otherwise gives one hope this does :)

Nice ! Great Idea
Congatulations

This is a great post with very good advice! Congrats on your accomplishments and all that you've learned!

Dang! I'm hoping to reach 300 followers around my 1000th post and 1 month here on steemit. 400 is awesome! Keep up the awesome content!

I'll keep posting
and hoping
and wishing for a whale.

And one time,
maybe next time,
the STEEM will hail!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40