You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: These are Not "Beginner Pets": Think Twice Before Adopting a Turtle/Tortoise

in #minnowsunite8 years ago

I have a photo of a turtle that I have been unable to name. I would never consider taking it in as a pet (and I think it's illegal here in Florida). With all the wildlife that lives in the area, I'm perfectly content to watch them in the wild. Most people don't realize the commitment it takes for ANY pet. It's sad that the majority will opt for a puppy or kitten and never think to see the lovely creatures at a local shelter. I personally have 2 rescue dogs (1 with special needs) and at one point I had 10 ferrets because people couldn't handle them. Some have since passed and now I'm down to 4 mature ferrets who will never have to worry about rehoming again. Thank you for the information and time you put into this post!

Sort:  

Thank you! I think a lot of people don't see anything wrong with taking a wild turtle, keeping it for a few years and then releasing it, which is obviously a problem. And it all comes down to making sure people are educated about these animals. That's great about the rescues! There's so many animals out there that need good homes so it's best to start looking there (unfortunately, when turtles need homes, some people literally take them to make turtle soup -_-).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48