Here with little to no clue!

in #minnowsunite8 years ago (edited)

20160824_175904d0761.jpg

Hello everyone! My name is Thomas and like the title says, I have very little idea just what the heck I’m doing here on steemit! My father has managed to drag me into this, despite my lack of understanding of bitcoin and most forms of programming. However, since I AM capable of stringing together coherent sentences, he advised that I start bringing some of my writing to steemit. Hopefully my experiences with blogging and social media will make for some…er…interesting posts (and a big thanks to everyone who read my first post!).

I am a museum herpetologist based out of Newport News, Virginia. I graduated from Christopher Newport University in 2013 with a bachelor’s degree in organismal biology, and began working alongside reptiles and amphibians shortly after. Now I get to start conversations by telling folks I work with venomous snakes and train alligators for a living!

No, seriously.

ThomasGator16f079.jpg

In my free time, I indulge in waaaay too much video gaming and sometimes the occasional bit of writing (maybe having a steemit account will change that). When I am able to drag myself out into the blinding light of the outdoors, I spend my time looking for real-world reptiles and virtual Pokemon with my wife, Lindsey.

Since most of my experience revolves around reptiles, amphibians and the world of herpetology, most of my posts will probably focus on that subject, but don’t be surprised if I branch out a little bit. If you want to know everything there is to know about snakes, frogs, lizards, turtles, etc, then follow me!

Lindsey and I are eagerly awaiting the arrival of our son this September. Hopefully I can get a few posts up before that consumes my already meager free time!  

Sort:  

Welcome, Love herps ! Saw the pics, beauties !

Welcome, man! Personally, I leave the reptiles be, but it's great that you found a passion in them. It's also great that you have a very supportive dad! Best of luck here on Steemit!

I just joined steemit about a half hour ago. I don't have much of an idea what I'm doing either. I thought it would be an interesting experiment to follow you as I can maybe learn from your progress and possibly you can learn from mine.
My name is James and I live in eastern Canada. This is my first comment here on steemit

Hi James, when you get used to the platform (posting, editing, etc.) you should try your first Blog post using the #introduceyourself tag, telling a bit about you and if posible with a picture showing you with a steemit sign for validation or any other idea alike.

This is certainly a learning curve for me. I don't even use twitter, although I do have an account. (which I may or may not even be able to log into. lol)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98