Minnow of The Week: Steemit Connecting People

in #minnowoftheweek7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3989-1024x683.jpg

Hello there.

We don't live a very conventional life here at @walkerland. I live in a log cabin with my husband and two dogs. We are off grid, self reliant homesteaders. It's been an exciting journey and I am quite passionate about writing and sharing our experiences. I also enjoy learning from others. Steemit has been a tremendous platform for making this possible.

My mantra is: If you want to see change for the better, you have to take matters into your own hands. This resonates through a lot of what I write about.

It will probably benefit this story for me to mention that I wasn't always a homesteader. I used to play in the corporate world. I found my first tribe at a cool IT company in Northern Canada where I got to work with really smart and passionate people. We built satellite broadband networks in remote locations, including Nunavut (Canada's Arctic), the Northwest Territories and Kiribati in the South Pacific.

We were connecting people with the outside world for the first time. Kids in isolated communities were able to find their voice and share their stories with the world. Distance education and so many things were made possible by a gang of young geeks. It was incredible to be part of this.

My husband and I did this for about fifteen years before we grabbed hands and took a big leap in a very different direction. The life of a homesteader can be quite isolating, much like life in a remote community.

Just Imagine

Can you imagine the role that steemit can play in connecting people? In reducing the feeling of isolation? When you consider how shallow connections tend to be these days on Facebook, text etc, Steemit is a pretty powerful platform. It feels different here, it's a much more rewarding and emotionally fulfilling place to be.

There is a very beautiful part of steemit that is about making connections, sharing information and building community - I want to be a part of that.

I LOVE steemit

I didn't know what to expect when I started contributing. I just sort of jumped in and went with the flow. I got lucky because the warm and genuine community #homesteadersonline reached out to me early in my exploration of this platform. The connections that I am making has made steemit my favourite place to visit on-line.

What do I contribute to steemit?

As a little minnow I am doing what I do best. Creating quality and original content. I read posts, comment and work on building real connections. I share what I write here on steemit with other social media platforms, and I've brought my husband @xwalkran over to join in the fun as well. @goldendawn (who you should know if you don't already) mentioned me in a post that she wrote recently. She said that in regards to steemit "I have hit the ground running" and I suppose that I have. Its my style to throw all I've got into something when I become passionate about it. The Steem Dollars that I have accrued have been turned into Steem Power.

I am here for the long haul and want to do my part to make steemit successful.

I am also an established blogger with a website and good following Walkerland. I have to admit, steemit is taking front and centre in my life and my blog has become neglected. I plan to educate people on the beauty of steemit and I think all of the work I have done to date with my blog and social media will help make this possible. Tides are changing and Steemit is the place to be.

@walkerland Best Post

I am not sure this is my best post but I really enjoyed writing it. I think a lot of people learned something new from having read it. The Many Surprising and Practical Uses of Birch Trees

Be Well,

Charlotte

Sort:  

Reading this reminds me that I need to play around more with figuring out Discord. I got the app downloaded while in town (and bumming off the local coffee shop’s WiFi lol) but it froze up and I couldn’t navigate on it. I’m excited to get in and check out the community too!

We've got a bad internet connection so I struggle to stay connected on Discord. I also have never been in a chat group so I am always feel lost and end up just standing in the corner listening but I really love the group so I need to get better at it.

We lived off the grid for a short period on a sailboat and although I missed the availability of internet, I LOVED the rest of it!

Thanks for the vote on minnow of the week!

I loved reading your post, you are clearly enjoying life! Good luck with that contest :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39