MINNOW OF THE WEEK: An Open-Mind for the Platform

in #minnowoftheweek6 years ago (edited)

13466110_1253508354660139_3291490574597087630_n.jpg

My name is Uriel Tate Actub, taken from the name of an Angel from the bible. I am a Filipino was born and raised in a Christian Community. I have an average brown complexion, above average weight, and with an above average height. I am still taking my degree in Electronics Engineering and is planning to finish it in year from now.

I am the kind of person who is very difficult to understand (or atleast that’s what my friends say about me) because I am very tough, strong and serious on the outside, but very soft and crazy once fully understood. But if I were to describe myself, I believe people shouldn’t always expect anything from me. Maybe their impressions and assessment of me should tone down a little bit because I always see myself as a what-you-see-is-what-you-get type of person. I don’t fake anything, I just do me in the way I feel it.

Furthermore, I have always been a thinker since then. If you haven’t seen my introductory post, just click here to see it. As I’ve said there, I always love everything and anything that can make me think. And if thoughts are too overwhelming, I’ll immediately write something about it. And in some cases, if there’s a very hot issue that everyone is talking about and I don’t think that my opinion is necessary (such as political issues, stranger’s personal issues and such) but have loads of significant thoughts to express, writing will always be an avenue to ease the urge to speak.
IMG-0593.JPG

Finally, Steemit!

Last October-November 2017, my colleague and a very good friend @kneelyrac introduced me to this blogging site that is full of wonderful ideas and people. She eventually invited me to join them and encouraged me to write again on a regular basis but unfortunately, due to the demands of studies and extra-curricular activities, I decided to put the invitation on-hold and get back whenever time is more convenient and easy. Months past, my co-dancer @levinvillas showed me the same website that @kneelyrac introduced me. He encouraged me to express my thoughts in a more clear and wordly type where anyone can hear it and won’t make any offensive judgments like any other social media sites available. He significantly showed me works of people who have great working minds and very powerful words. So weeks after that, I decided to sign up and be part of this community. Although @kneelyrac was quite upset because I turned her down once, its okay because I love them both and they love me too hahahaha but the important thing is that, finally, I’m here.

Steemit Experience

With weeks of being here, it is so awkward to talk about this part because I really don’t have any long historical experiences on the environment. I barely have 2 posts (this being 3rd) to show and can’t confidently say that I have mastered everything or even tried everything out here. But since @runicar made this amazing opportunity to be heard regardless of experience or length of stay, which I am very thankful about, I will describe everything that I have appreciated since I joined the community.

Discoveries

  1. The steemit environment is very friendly and is not really hard to get use to. It features the works of people that has diverse interests. More than just calling it as a work or anything, it becomes an avenue for people who have a lot of things to say that somehow needs to be heard. Just like with my own experience, since I was new, all I did before posting was going through other people’s works, and I was amazed by the various opportunities that this website is offering. Not only does it becomes an outlet, it turned into a platform for people who have undiscovered talents and interests in dancing, singing, arts, travels and everything in between. I was surprised by the things that you could actually do here. So whoever is/are behind this great platform, a salute to all of you.

  2. I once had an account for a blogging website but I preferred to have it private because I was afraid of how people would react if they read my posts. That is also the reason as to why I was hesitant to join the community at first. But after reading the works of others, I willingly signed up because of the number of people that share the same hobby as I have – overthinking. And not only did they accepted me, they helped me and gave me tips in making my blogs. So a big shoutout to this wonderful people @kneelyrac @levinvillas @lebron2016. Also, to the very inter-active group of @steemitAchievers and all the iligan and Philippine steemit users. I would also like to grab this opportunity to thank @surpassinggoogle for reading my introductory post, it was an honor sir thank you.

  3. Never did I imagined, when I first signed up, that I can read personal statements and experiences from people around the globe. But Steemit does not only help people express but also it enables people to connect and understand each other’s differences. As some users open-up competitions to give everyone the opportunity to be heard despite the differences in thoughts, religions, race and etc. This platform has again broke down a communication barrier and opens a channel for people to speak through their minds and hearts.

How it helped Me

  1. As I have said, this platform has paved the way for me to publicly express my thoughts without having the fear of being laughed out with. The ways these people express their thoughts were too open that I had to challenge myself to be more open and profound with my thoughts and words. It gave me the leap of confidence that I needed to find my way back to my pen and papers.

  2. With the variety of people present, and the diversity of thoughts and opinions, this platform gave me a better perspective in respecting and understanding differences more. It gave a better outlook on how to perceive people’s work and eventually appreciate the differences. In the same manner, it helps in improving my reading and writing skills gradually.

Goals On Steemit

Since I have joined the community and practically discovered a lot of incredible things and reasons for staying, I believe that to say that my reason to just express my thoughts has become the least goal that I have now. I think to connect with people and understand more of their thoughts will be a very good purpose or goal of staying. It’s more than enough and it is good enough.

Values To The Community

I am no special person. I don’t have that very epidemic good attitude to touch and change people’s lives. Though I’m entirely blunt of what values I could give, for starters, I’ll say that I have a very open mind and heart for this community. Maybe this is enough because regardless of any expressed excellent thoughts, it would all be worthless if someone close at heart and mind will read it. The message will not be grasped at all, and it would entirely defeat the purpose of this platform – to be heard, connect and understand.

Why I deserved To Win?

Disregarding the reputation, the length of stay, and the number of posts made, I think I deserved to win this contest because I always pour my heart out in all the blogs that I have made. Not minding if I’ll win or not, I always see to it that the readers will not only apprehend my subject, understand the points that I want to insinuate, but also try to enjoy and get to know me better through my words.

12096266_1079363002074676_7040996262768335065_n.jpg

(Here’s a link to my entry in #untalentedmama competition just in case you want to read something I’m proud of).

Again, thank you @runicar for this wonderful competition you came up with, #minnowoftheweek. And thank you everyone for reading.

Sort:  

such a great blog truelove! E for effort!!

Thank you truelove hahahaha iping2 lng jud :D

Wow great post.. Uriel is my angel's name.. Good luck in your steem journey.. Keep steeming

hahaha that's great to hear. Thank you for reading and God bless :)

Indeed :) good lucj for your mission and vision here sir. Keep on steeming !

Thank you for stopping by and for leaving a comment. God bless you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00