Minnow of the week: A grateful steemian.

in #minnowoftheweek7 years ago (edited)

I decided to write this eventually. I was going to wait till my birthday next week to do this but thank you @runicar for giving this opportunity , for helping us to be grateful for what we have and for reminding us to appreciate those who have been good to us. This post will double as my appreciation post.

Introducing myself again
C360_2015-07-13-15-47-18-092.jpg

My name is Ponmile Orija. Yes , probably sounds strange and rare too but I'm from Ogun state Nigeria. I've been writing since I was a kid, I grew up writing for magazines and newspapers. I studied food science and technology in the university but it hasn't stopped me from working as a writer. I have worked as a food technologist for a while but I still get fulfilled writing. I like to ask questions, I don't know why it has reduced of recent, probably because I have more responsibilities now but I definitely still ask questions. I like to sew, I learnt it during my session holidays as a student. I also love music, it is therapeutic.

My steemit journey

Lanre Sonde @dante31 introduced me to steemit. We have been friends for years and he greatly supports my writings and my blog. I joined steemit late November 2017, on the 22nd I guess. It took him about 4 months to convince me to get on steemit. Have you ever come across something about January borns being stubborn?

I just wasn't seeing the need to join, the day I eventually signed up it was more like, I needed to do it to please him. I can say today that I am thankful he brought me here. I have met a lot of great people, talented people too. I will start from my first set of posts.

I didn't know I had to write an introductory post so I just wrote a few lines and I jumped into my article posting. @bollutech who I didn't know as at then, commented on one of my posts and told me about making an introductory post. I am still grateful to him for that. My introductory post led to meeting more awesome people, @pangoli my dear friend , who I believe immediately liked me. He got me featured on @onequality red carpet and he mentioned discord to me. He has remained a troublesome friend.

I met @phunke, I liked her posts and articles I approached her to bother her, asking questions like I always do and we became friends.
I got on discord and didn't know what servers to join, @bollutech , @dante and @pangoli helped with this as well. Then I met @nairadaddy who introduced me to air-clinic, air-clinic has been wonderful I learn a lot from the daily health discussions radio shows and I have participated and won some of their contests. Thanks @nairadaddy for being wonderful. My wonderful air clinic friends, @annieben @jeline January queen. I met funny @cryptogrind on discord as well.

On steemgigs I met wonderful @artaddict who is always eager to help everyone especially newbies. She has been good, I met @rufans another wonderful and funny friend who has been awesome and of course @olawalium the most sensitive guy I know on steemit.

I appreciate Steemnaira as well, the weekly creation Sundays as been awesome and helping newbies learn and grow is something I appreciate Steemnaira for. Other great friends on steemnaira are @aderonkemi , @nmalove @michaelcj @bcrafts @casweeney , @heeyahnuh @stevenmoses @stanleyc-md @motivatorjoshua , @ufem @gracehills @aauathespian @geeflow just to mention a few.
@seyiodus and @cecicastor these women have been wonderful and I really do appreciate them.

@futurethinker found me at some points, he must have stumbled upon my post and he invited me to his server, promo mentors. Where I met several other people @mariska lubis @gentleshaid who taught me how to be better. I still appreciate this people. I have been able to introduce steemit to my friends and help them too.

I appreciate @oluwoleolaide, yes that popular steem Lagos guy, I saw one of his posts and I got hooked. He is original, thank you for being wonderful and good.

@greenrun , his posts have challenged me to write better. He is brilliant, I read one of his ADSactly stories and it challenged me to apply at ADSactly.

@jeanwandimi , my wonderful ADSactly friend and another January queen, she has been working to bring the whole of Kenya on steemit.

@nickibanjlady this lady who believes so much in me, I appreciate you.
I appreciate @surpassinggoogle for his constant generosity to all steemians, it has really been encouraging. I could go on and on, believe me when I say I've met great people here and it has helped my journey greatly.

I joined the family protection campaign, spearheaded by @canadiancoconut and I'm glad I've been able to add my voice to help the helpless.

Goals and values for the community

Over the years, I've written to add value to my readers. I like to pass a message across and proffer solutions in my articles. I want to keep doing that here on steemit too. I want my stories, my motivational articles and my once in a while science articles to keep being beneficial to the steemit society. I also want to care about people here, like the popular saying goes people don't care how much you know until they know how much you care. I want to see through people's posts and understand who they really are and what they need.

_20180116_123128.JPG

Finally
Here is a link to one of my good posts, I won't call it my best because my best is yet to come.
https://steemit.com/life/@ponmile/7-proven-ways-to-deal-with-pain

Thanks again @runicar for this opportunity.

Sort:  

Hi @ponmile

I really love your well informed introduction.

Thanks for telling us about yourself.
Steemit is a wonderful social media community, at first, growing up your steemit account may be difficult but don't give up
I’m Kingsley, I’m a graphic designer and a writer.
You're very welcome to steemit. I wish you success. I hope you'll enjoy steemit as time goes on. I'll like to follow you so I can share ideas with you here on steemit. I'm now following you. Feel free to follow me back if you want.
@kingsley-clement

Thanks, i've been here for a whike . This is just like summarising my journey so far..
I wikl check out your blog

Thanks for writing in Ponmile... It's a privilege to be featured on here.. You've been a friend. 🙂.. And a troublesome one at that too.. 🤣

Yesss this is my maam.......go up eh!? Go up eh!! Go up eh!!!.........yes ma i believe so much in you ma

Making African proud girl!

Nice dear, you have come a long way and together we are strong on this platform. You are a wonderful friend too. Your writing skill is exceptional. Kudos to your good work.

Thank you @casweeney
I admire your computer guruness 😁😁😁

This is such a huge honour @ponmile. You are such a darling. I am so delighted i got to know you and your awesomeness. You are simply adorable. Thank you for being you. Your CV here shows "busy". Hahaha you got your hands full and that's because you are so intelligent. Thank you.

😁😁😁😁
The great @olawalium with the wonderful comments.....
Thank you my guy

Hahahahahaha adorable cutie with the charming smile. You are always welcome.

@ponmile

Steemnaira appreciates you alot. Keep on growing and adding value to steemit.

Thank you @steemnaira ,
Glad to be associated with the community

Thank you for the tag (mention) in your post, @ponmile! You are a good writer and you need to keep it up. You only get better with practise. I am glad that you found your way to Steemit. You have a lot to offer the community.

Awww
Thank you @cecicastor. Your comment means a lot to me
Thank you

Awesome! Keep it up please!
Looking forward to more of your future post! :)
Enjoy life! ♥

Thank you @feye
I will follow you rightaway

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39