HOW OFTEN D0 YOU SEND MONEY TO YOUR PARENTS?

in #minnowhelper6 years ago (edited)

17073-an-african-american-woman-looking-out-a-window-pv.jpg
Source

Sometimes last year, I got an alert from my GTBank Short Messaging Service informing me that I have made my 62582ndtransfer transaction by using their online (#737) platform and that I should hit the 100000th mark to earn a prize.

I was like ‘really?’ Sixty two thousand, Five hundred and eighty two transactions?
That’s apart from the OTC- over-the-counter transactions I must have made since opening the savings account in 2004 during my 2nd year in the university.

Something hit me immediately I received the message. How much money have I transferred for that number of times and who are those I’ve been transferring the money to?

Before we continue, it is pertinent for me to state that I don’t remember transferring any fund to anyone while I was in the university. I barely had any savings as at then, not to talk of sending money. My first credit transfer must be in 2008 during my youth service year; at least that was my first time of earning something at the end of a month. Again and importantly, if I have transferred any money during my service year; it must have been to my ex-girlfriend and it can’t be more than 5000 Naira, I mostly buy things for her.

Fast forward to June 2012 when I first became gainfully employed, I believe this was when I must have started using the transfer service actively. Bear in mind that I also operate another bank account that offers the same transfer services; I wonder how many times I have used their code even though they operated my secondary account.

I thought to myself; let’s assume I have made One thousand naira transfer per transaction, which is very rare; that means I have transferred an average of around 7million Naira since 2012.
Chisos! To who?

My mind became unsettled… could it be that GTBank has made a mistake with their counter? I thought that must be unlikely. So I began to do the math and see how much salary I’ve earned over the years apart from bonuses and maybe gifts; and roughly it added up to like a quarter more than half of the total sum. Then if it is truthfully so, who were the recipients of those transferred funds?

“For sure I know my siblings and parents must have received an ample share of the lot but it’s hard to reconcile that all of these ladies in total may have gotten better than them."

But somehow I feel it is inconceivable to ignore the fact that hangouts with friends, work peeps, guys and ladies take larger crunch of our income while parents just get little or crumbs from many children. We don’t mind popping bottles every TGIF while many ladies buy a lot of unused clothes and expensive lace wigs that their sister cannot use but one street babe that hails them can take those things away.

I’ve always thought I did my best, if you see my parents you can ask them but the truth is that the notification from my bank made me realize I could do more.

Family is everything. Whatever you do for outsiders are mostly for an impression, what you do for family is for love. And in the days of thy trouble, only family subsists.

Don’t say you have parents that are still earning, and because of that you believe they don’t need your money.
Trust me they do. Apart from the more blessings that you receive because it is more blessed to give than to receive, you are going to reap the fruits of longevity for your life.

Honour your parents with your substance and your days on earth will be prolonged. Don’t allow credit alert to be a strange thing from you to your parents. Don’t make them wait for it like the northern people wait for rain to fall.

Taking care of your parent is very important and one of the ways to do so is by sending them money for their upkeep. Don’t let them become parents awaiting credit alert (PACA) while you are there singing “my bank alert na Pakam!”

DO YOU ALSO THINK LIFE IS UNFAIR? Click here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55