Delegate and Undelegate Steem Power: Step by Step Guide

in #minnowbooster6 years ago (edited)

Many of you have already heard you can delegate and undelegate Steem Power via the Minnowbooster website.

However, some of you may not understand how to undelegate Steem Power, which is a problem if you need to undelegate your Steem Power and use it for other purposes.

This article will give step by step instructions on a couple of ways to delegate and undelegate Steem Power.

Watch my YouTube video where I describe this here>>

Delegating Steem Power


Let's begin by delegating Steem Power. There are two main ways to do this: using SteemConnect, or Vessel. Let's do SteemConnect first, because it's a little more difficult.

Find a Request


First off, you're going to find a lease request on Minnowbooster that you have enough SP to fill. Select "Fill this offer" and fill in your Steem username in all lowercase letters.

delegating

Next, choose "Delegate (with SteemConnect)"

This screen will pop up:

undelegating

Click "Continue"

Next, you'll fill out your username (all lowercase letters) and then your Active Key for the password:


Clicking "SIGN IN" will allow you to broadcast the transaction.

Now you'll get the confirmation screen!


You can check your Steem Power in your wallet and should find that it has the same amount subtracted from the total that you delegated.

Congratulations, you're now earning passive income!

Undelegating Steem Power


Undelegating Steem Power is easy enough to do on Vessel, but a little trickier using SteemConnect. Let's take a look at the latter.

SteemConnect


Minnowbooster, as a bot, is supposed to send a message to you when the delegation ends:

undelegate message

When you get this, you're going to highlight the text from the "https" portion all the way to the end:

undelegate highlighted url

Copy and paste this url into your web browser's address window.

address pasted

In this instance, I'm pulling from somebody else's link, because I didn't have one handy in my wallet history. You can see where I've highlighted the delegator (your name would go here, where it says rules169, which is the username of another Steemian)

undelegating

I've changed rules169 with my username, and the delegatee I've changed to emperorofnaps (a bid bot run by some people I know). You can do the exact same thing

undelegating

You can do this by copy-pasting the following and enter your name where it says "YOURNAME" and the delegatee where it says "OTHERNAME":

https://steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=YOURNAME&delegatee=OTHERNAME&vesting_shares=0.000000%20VESTS
Make sure you enter your name in all lowercase. Notice the vesting_shares=0.000000. Delegating Steem Power is done by "vests", which seems complicated, but 0.00000 is pretty obviously zero.

When you hit enter, you'll see another confirmation screen like you did before. This time, the amount you'll see under the names is 0.000 SP. You're undelegating Steem Power by changing your delegation amount to zero.

undelegating steem power confirmation

Finally, you'll receive another confirmation after you click continue. You've successfully undelegated Steem Power to one delegatee, and in seven days, you'll get that Steem Power back for your own use.

undelegating steem power success

Make sure you use it wisely.

-Jeff

Interested in optimizing your Steem experience? Do you want to learn more about the Steem blockchain and how Steemit works? Click the logo below for a deep dive on Steem:

steemmaker white logo



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://steemmaker.com/delegate-undelegate-steem-power/

Sort:  

I do have a couple of delegations and use steemworld.org as my tool to do the delegating.

There's doesn't appear to be a 'remove' option, though I don't want to mess with it too much as there may not be an 'are you sure' option.

Ooh, thanks, I forgot about that option!

Nice I was wondering if it was good or not. Have yet to use it.

Thanks for such detailed instructions! Of course it's clear easy steps but I think this information will be useful for newbies and for that people who will try to delegate their SP at first time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Very helpful article for me. Here i am new. Know many things from your article. Many many thanks.

Glad I could help!

I need to know one thing. I saw many users using bot for fast growing. Is it helpful or not or profitable ? If profitable then please give me useful bot name.

Generally not profitable. Get involved in photography contests and find other photographers.
Learn to use Steepshot and/or Appics for posting photos.
:-)

Can you come to discord? I have a very good plan for you and me. It will help a lot both you and me.

Aleady i got 4 prizes. Others are running. Me popular Bangladeshi street photographer. Not worried about my photo. Worried about market. I need to chat with you.

Is it rude to ask what I'm about to ask? Maybe. But have you checked out my delegation contest?

It might be if I didn't know you from Reddit already. 😉

Thanks to remind me.

I have rented SP for 3 months, I think it is more convenient, so I do not have to delegate my SP

Thanks for sharing this detailed step-by-step tutorial on how to delegate and undelegate SP.

Hi @zorank! I`m here to help :) If you want to delegate, please make a comment (for example replay to this one) like this:
I want to delegate X sp to @user
Where X is the amount of SP and @user is the steem user you want to delegate to. For example:
I want to delegate 100 sp to @protegeaa
@tipU will answer with a delegation link. Hope this helps!:)

These bots are getting smarter!

I just undelegated some sp this weekend, now I'm waiting for the 7 days. It wasn't much but it's taking forever to build my sp. I probably shouldn't delegate until I get well above 500sp anyway. I just wanted to see how to do it. Thanks for the lesson.

Eh, it's a good way to add to your earnings. Especially under 500 SP, where your vote is a couple pennies, delegating might be a great way to build up that stack while you sleep.

Legal the idea of curatorship

Hello, I can't quite understand what you're saying. Can you say it differently?

Thanks a lot! Steem is quite complicated as it is, so content creators like yourself make it worthwhile to stay by bridging the gap. Hopefully Justin Sun doesn't messes this whole thing up...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66