Road Rage in a Foreign Country

in #minnowbooster7 years ago (edited)

Don't do it- plain and simple. You will lose.

One night at Press Club, I was talking to a woman who worked for the World Health Organization. I asked her what was Vietnam's most pressing health issue. She said "Traffic fatalities and injuries."

I took this photo on my morning commute. It looks stressful, but I wasn't running late- so no worries by me.

IMG_20160906_073350.jpg

This incident occurred a few weeks ago on the road Trần Khát Chân. The foreigner made a lot of mistakes here.

  • He was on a motorbike and the locals were in a car (a Porsche by the way)
  • Fighting in sandals
  • He took off his helmet
  • Fighting locals

This is not a phenomenon strictly in Vietnam, this applies anywhere- if you are an outsider fighting with a local, the other local people will rally to help their own. This is a short clip from a video that went viral here in Vietnam.

giphy.gif

In order to avoid road rage, you should expect the following while driving in Hanoi:

  • Getting cut off or people pulling out in front of you without looking.
  • People driving the wrong way
  • Ignoring traffic lights
  • Driving on sidewalks
  • Talking on phones while driving motorbike

Don't get mad, just be amused and be careful. Don't rush, leave early and pay attention to road conditions.

Or, dress like Bane.

2017-01-19-19-16-36.jpg

By the way, if you're going to drive for any length of time in Hanoi, you need a good pollution mask. I found out the hard way because I got a couple chest infections early on. I bought my Respro at The Hanoi Bicycle Collective in Tay Ho. http://www.thbc.vn/

Also, make sure you get a proper helmet that protects your whole head and face. If you scroll back and look at the first picture, most people's helmets will not protect anything except maybe protect you from getting a ticket for no helmet.

You can buy a helmet at Motor Store on 347 Pho Hue. http://motorstore.vn/

I paid $100 USD- how much is your head worth? Stay safe out there.

DQmVgY4H5PiprDMCtqYznyohc1GpGVUNE9kN693S2kHz2es_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

How to ride when around so many vehicles? I would be more shocked and stressed

Everybody is just tip toeing along until everything clears up.

The Vietnamese lady that I bought my motorbike from gave me this advice, "If you get in an accident with a Vietnamese person, leave the area as fast as you can. It doesn't matter who's fault it is, everyone will be against you". Luckily, I didn't get into any accidents.

Some advice for people who have never traveled before: NEVER FIGHT IN PLACES YOU'RE UNFAMILIAR WITH if you can avoid it. If forced, only fight to escape the situation. It doesn't matter if you're going to Sicily or Cincinnati. If you're in unfamiliar surroundings, avoid fights at all cost. Forget your pride, forget your sense of justice and just walk away. This simple advice will reduce your risk of being stomped out by 5 strangers significantly.

Cool one ~ Same applies everywhere mate not just Hanoi. People same everywhere lol

My dear beloved steemit members. In the end, I love the inner love and respect of my heart. Today, I will tell you some truth about the purpose of all of you. Hope everyone will think about the matter. Initially, I want to say that this is a social networking site. It is not the means of earning money. However, yes it is creating a good opportunity for us. Which is good for all. But sadly, there is no post in it. Look at it. And one thing is very difficult that everyone just wants to follow him, but he does not follow anyone. So my request to everyone is mine. That everyone is helping everyone by steemit Build a family
follow and @shahaalam

I provided a personal story, footage from a current local incident, and 2 photos of my own. I told people where to buy a pollution mask, and where to buy a good helmet. I also gave people some tips on how to stay safe while driving. Looks like original content to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23