You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MB Update - Catch Up With the Recent Comings and Goings of Minnowbooster!

in #minnowbooster6 years ago

Steemit doesn't disallow having multiple accounts, I have two... One of my serious posts (this one) and another I rarely use for my less serious posts (like dMania memes) or to try s STEEM service I'm not sure of its safety.

I don't think it's bad to allow multiple accounts per person, a perosn can make an account for each niche they write for, or maybe an account for each service they provide, it'll be more organized that way.

What I think is bad is that some are making 30 accounts and use 29 of them to upvote themselves... Ouch!!

Sort:  

I understand your point of having different accounts/blogs for writing about different topics. But Steemit is different, from other blogging , because here you earn by interaction, with other accounts. I believe its wrong to have multiple accounts on Steemit, because of the possibility of fake interaction (comments, upvotes, resteems) that results in earnings. Most of the people are here to make money, if they are allowed multiple accounts, they will exploit this opportunity and will create fake interactions to earn money.
A rule in management says , "When something can go wrong, it will go wrong".
Steemit is a great concept , but if Steemit wants to be taken seriously, it must get rid of all the flaws and loopholes in the system, and one of these loopholes is multiple accounts.

I can see what you mean, still... I don't know.

"When something can go wrong, it will go wrong."

I like that quote~

By the way, one of the things steemit system discourages making multiple accounts is that the SP will get divided on them (if you do all the things in one account or multiples you'll get the same total SP which if you really want to be useful you'd want to be in one account) but what you said is right: People can interact with themselves and make it seem like they're popular.

That's sad, but I think steemit (or any other website) can't prevent people making multiple accounts they can just discourage/restrict them (just look at other social media,) and since the website main advantage is "freedom" (money too, but the attractiveness of this system that there's no ruler, just few rules.)

Well, that's only what I think though... I know it'll be more money focused if it prevented these things, but that will make it less decentralized.


By the way, a centralized (probably not a blockchain) website that works like steemit with many differences is Yours.org if you want to check that out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55350.85
ETH 2319.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33