My post for an All expense paid trip to STEEMFEST - However I want to try something different!

in #minnow7 years ago (edited)

Having an all expense paid trip to Steemfest would be AMAZING, however I want to try something different. Instead of creating a post to try and win a ticket for myself, I would like to try to win for someone else who is more in need and will probably benefit from this more then I will. With the increase in the amount of influence our vote has, mine and other minnows votes are now more influential. What this means to me is that I may be able to earn enough from Steemit to fund my own ticket.

With that in mind, I would like to try and create a post to win an all expense ticket for someone else.

Why?

  1. It is a way for me to give back and support the community even further
  2. One of the rules for winning is the post MUST be in English. There are several individuals and content creators who cannot speak English well and as a result may be discouraged to create a post for this contest
  3. There are people less fortunate then me and more deserving of such a wonderful gift
  4. technology limitations - I have met a few people on Steemit who do not have regular access to a PC and internet, or struggle to make even a single post
  5. Not everyone gets to or has the means to travel - especially to new and exciting places outside of their home country
  6. It demonstrates the power of community and our ability to help others
  7. I got the best compliment from @aggroed the other day and I guess Im still coming down from being a little over-confident on my writing skills right now - he complimented one of my posts by saying "it was very well written ," which is the best thing to hear for someone who is always trying to improve his skills and the content he is writing. Thanks!!

I can continue to list a number of reasons, but overall I would just like to help someone else.

What is my plan - sorry this is a work in progress and I am purely coming up with this as I go:

  1. If I win, I will ask @aggroed and the @minnowsupport team to send the funds directly to a person who I and the community agrees is worthy of the funds - I have a few names in mind and will continue to build that list (I'll also take recommendations)
  2. Donate some funds to the trip myself - I would love to donate as much as I can to help with other expenses, but I also want to fund my own ticket so I can meet the recipient and the @minnowsupport team

Now to satisfy the requirements to enter:

MY BIO

My Name is Chris. I recently turned 40 (and by recent I mean 6 months ago - as you get older you tend to round down and not up). I have been told I look (and act) like a teenager. I was born and raised in Texas, however I am currently living in the Philippines - an amazing country!! I have been here for the past 11 years. In a few months I will be moving back to Austin for a for a new opportunity. I have been working in the call center Industry for most of my career. Currently I work for one of the worlds largest BPOs - Convergys - going on 6 years now. Previous to Convergys I worked for Dell for 11 years.

I have many hobbies as you can see from my posts - Diving is one of my favorite past time activities. Aside from my friends and the culture, this is what I will miss most about the Philippines when I leave. There is an abundance of beautiful beaches and dive spots here in Manila. I also enjoy traveling, sports such as tennis and football (American), and on occasion lounging around the house (if you can call that a hobby).

Working for a BPO, allows me access to many charitable organizations. As a result, I have gotten the opportunity to give back to the community and be a part of many of these charitable activities. Below are just a couple:

Give a Bag of Hope - A Convergys initiative to provide School supplies and bags for less fortunate children. Poverty counts as the main reason why elementary school children drop out of school. During the second year of this initiative school books were added and due to it's success we are now into our 3rd year where we have involved local small businesses to help employ PWDs and those who struggle to find employment. [Link]

Children of Joy Foundation - Another Charitable Organization who I would love to be able to donate to on my own. This foundation reaches out to disadvantaged, neglected and poor children in the Philippines. They seek out and provide refuge to abandoned and orphaned children — providing for their basic needs of food, clothing, shelter, and education while teaching and nurturing them to become responsible and productive citizens. I have on several occasions, had the opportunity to support and work with this organization and I would like to be able to continue to do more. [Link]

As my influence and returns increase, I hope that I can continue to donate some of the funds I raise to support some of these wonderful groups as well as fellow Steemit friends who also need support.

what I bring to STEEMFEST

I will definitely be bringing my warm smile and friendly attitude. In this case however, I am hoping to bring someone other then myself who doesn't necessarily have the means or the experience in traveling to experience something new and meet some of the most influential and creative people I have ever met.

The person I elect to donate this win to is going to be someone who I find is creative and can themself bring positive energy and unique value to Steemit, whether it is art, knowledge, experience, or anything else that will disrupt and change how we think, feel, and act. I want to help thrust someone who is not getting the exposure they deserve into the limelight and possibly help change their life for the better. We have said many times that this platform has the ability to change lives. Why not help create another example.

I am hoping that this idea qualifies as something unique that I would have brought to Steemit and Steemfest.

BUDGET

Since ticket prices can Vary from region to region and location to location, I am pricing an Average budget of about $1500 USD. This accounts for any inflation in prices due to booking time, fees, taxes, and unforeseen expenses. Any additional cash remaining can be used by the recipient for lodging and other expenses.

If I make it to round 2 I will list the recipients for us to vote on. Let's work together to make someone else's dream come true. There are many unspoken, unnoticed, silent deserving recipients in the Steemit community. Help me find that diamond in the rough and let it shine.

Also if you get the chance, please join The minnow support program and help make a difference for all of the new incoming talent of Steemit. Join the discord channel at [https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw] and meet some great people. We have a lot of fun!


As always Thanks for reading and I hope to see you at SteemFest 2!!


Please Follow, Upvote, Resteem and let me know what you think in the comments below


Image Sources: [1] [2]

Sort:  

Love this idea, am definitely voting for you!

Thank You for the support!

What a great initiative! Bravo

Thanks Gmuxx! Thanks for the support and feedback!

Wow this is so amazing of you! I live in Spain, but do not.have the funds to travel to steemfest myself... I would love love love to win this!

Thanks Anouk.nox. Spain is beautiful btw!

I would love to attend, but I know that it's impossible for me to leave Finland alone :D but thanks for the offer hopefully the right one wins this! :)

Sorry to hear that. How many tickets do you need in order to go?

Just one extra :D I haven't been outside of Finland borders in my lifetime (25y), but hopefully some day that happens. And why 2nd ticket? I have moderate depressive episode. ( I hope that translated right) and who would I take with me and why? My girlfriend (who can be found also in Steemit, she started today @riikkar) She is the one who keeps me NOT depressed and she is there when hardest times hit. My mother passed away 3 years ago, and that was the launcher to this depression. Sorry for opening :D but just wanted you to know. But I know that it's too much :D so I just give my chance to someone else :)

I also commenting without expecting to win. In unlikely event I do, I said I'll give it to one of followers. To be decided when it's necessary. :-)

Pay-It-Forward forming :)

Will be interesting if one of us happen to win :-)

yup. Good Luck!

thank you for sharing
nice activity~!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cloh76 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hi great post, i will always give you a 100% vote for anything to do with helping people more in need than ourselves :)i want as much power as i can get,to do as much good as i can,so would be also great if you would upvote and help me get to the point where i can make a difference, i'm doing Ok for 1 week in,good luck and i will be going myself to the steemfest,i will be arranging it soon enough.Oh i think my click was worth $7 to the cause ,im still getting my head round it lol

Congratulations @cloh76! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54