The Life of a Minnow

in #minnow6 years ago

fish-1529192_1280.jpg

Source

Just keep posting swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming.

The Life of a Minnow

As the newly born minnow learns to move it's fins, they secrete information from their bodies, which we have come to call, "posts".

fish poop.jpg

Source

It has been noted that most of the first "posts" secreted by minnows have had a bad taste and smell to them that drives large whales to swim far far away.

As the minnow gets older the posts take longer to develop, as more time and energy are put forth to create them.

It's theorized that the minnows are hardwired to create original, quality "posts" that attract whales, so they can create symbiotic relationships with them to survive.

seagull.jpg

Source

Many minnows out there haven't the ability to secrete original "posts" which leads them to ingest others' "posts" and regurgitate them. Some smaller whales and large fish have fallen for this age old trick.

However there are many minnows out there producing quality "posts" that never get picked up by whales, or large fish for that matter.

dead fish.jpg

Source

Some quit swimming all together and secreting "posts", while others keep swimming through the depths of the ocean in hopes of one day being found by a whale.

angler.jpg

Source

It has been reported that some minnows save up the little scraps of food they've earned from their "posts" just to give it to a soulless whale in hopes of receiving more scraps back.
Most of the time these "soulless whales" are not able to give back all of the scraps given to them, leaving the minnow with buyers regret and a hard learned lesson.

whales.jpg

Source

There are groups of whales that have banded together in order to find minnows lost in the depths, secreting their flavorful "posts" only to have them fall to the ocean floor to never be found. Still there are many minnows out there trying to survive alone in the cold dark depths.

fish school.jpg

Source

The half frozen minnow will usually find others like itself to create a school for a higher rate of survival. Some of these schools have been found to get so large that they've cut off the food source for whales, thus causing the larger whales to take notice of the massive school of minnows.

The whales will usually have to diversify their food sources in order to survive, consequently bringing balance back to the ecosystem.

Sort:  

Very interestingly written article. What separates a minnow from a whale? what amount makes a Whale a whale? Can a minnow become a whale if he really swims and tries?

Nice analogy.

Thanks man, I like to think about things in different ways and write about them so others can understand my metaphors.

Very true us little guys need to stick together so we can one day become whales.

Excellent post. Totally feeling the half frozen minnow gig! I need to get over on discord, but I just keep running into this crazy limitation on number of hours in the day.

Totally understand that, finding balance can be one of the hardest things to do.

It is. Gotta remind myself to get off the hamster wheel.

Where do you find schools of minnows at? I need to find one of those. I like your post. It was creative.

steemitchat and discord are my top two for talking with other steemians. My best advice here would be to NOT beg for upvotes and follows. Just be original, friendly, and funny.

That is great advice. I am too shy to ask for stuff like follows and upvotes anyways.

Yes... do not ask for follows and upvotes... and also never post a link to your own article or page in the comments; unless the author of the main post asks for it.

I was wondering about that. A lot of comments on my early posts were asking for upvotes and follows. Led me to believe that was proper etiquette on here. Thanks for making it clear that it's not.

Definitely frowned upon.
True steemians don't do that.
If you're here for the platform and long term you'll succeed... but if you think it's a get rich quick thing... yeah... you'll do those kinds of comments.

Good luck!

While still a minnow, i would recomend the
@minnowsupportgroup and the @qurator schools.
There is a lot of good people there.
Also, If you have some skills needed, the @utopian-io School is also a good one.

I am the writer for the @qurator daily newsletter and yes, even before I became a "staff" member it's true that qurator is a great group as is steemibloggers- another community on Discord I belong to

Thanks @phgnomo. I'll check those out. I appreciate you pointing me to those resources.

I would recommend joining a community with like-minded people. I found some great ones on Discord channels. Once you're together you can start projects, help with resteems and visibility and even UPvotes.

Thanks @goldendawne! I'll start searching for Discord channels, so I can start working on some projects.

Keep swimming..Keep Swimming..Keep Swimming..Love tthe intro, Thank you for share @aceofthegrove, Re-Steemed :)

Regard from Aceh-Indonesia

Don't let your fins seize fluttering.

What's kind of sad (I guess is the best way to put it.. until you reach 1k SP you're a red fish... I just hit over the 1kSP and am officially a minnow)
But I am here as living proof... red fish and minnows DO in fact get noticed by whales and dolphins.

I was delegated 5k SP a few weeks ago by a LARGE dolphin/whale and it has exploded my advancement.

Once or twice a week I am fortunate (and blessed beyond words) that another whale stops over and UPvotes a post or two for me.

Determination, dedication and visibility have been my motto.

It takes a lot of patience to get to that point. You've got to keep your fins up when you pour your heart and soul into posts that never get recognized. I found that talking with others and getting advice is the best way to ale the impatient mind.

Yes patience is very important. I've been fortunate to get to where I am today.

I agree with sharing, talking and mulling over ideas with others; very helpful and a great way to brainstorm.

I'd be happy to be on a dolphins radar and just go whale hunting.

Well ya see, whales are constantly moving around and pushing "water" all over the place, minnows do the same thing but not with the same volume. I think we need whales for a functioning ecosystem. I may be wrong though.

Oh we need them, I just think hunting them will get their attention quicker......

Saya sangatenyukai pos anda.. 👍👍👍👌👌👏👏

Very nice.. i like a fish.beautiful

So do I, usually uncooked, wrapped in rice and veggies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50