[Question] The Mechanics of Pushing and Pulling Air

in #mining7 years ago (edited)


I'm trying to find solution for heat generated over the summer and was considering putting together a system where I have a sealed compartment pulling air from outside, and pushing air out...

Hiya Folks,

Something like this (but the holes arranged vertically)

Routed a panel that I can cut to fit into a window... connected by <2 ft of tubing.
(My rig will be mountned into a shelf that will sit against my window.).

Anyone (maybe some engineers) have an idea of how much pushing and pulling power I would need circulate enough air (to mimic open air conditions, not necessarily to provide additional cooling?) The area that house my cards should be able to 64000cm^3...

I was hoping that a 140mm fan pulling and 140mm fan pushing would be sufficient, but I am concerned this is naive... My rough logic is as follows... the fans I'm looking at 140mm noctua fans operate at 182,5 m³/h.... 182.5/0.064 = ~2800 times volume replaced per hour... meaning 46 times a minute haha per second... Which seems a bit nutty but my potentially flawed math seems to point it that way...

Provided the math is correct, is there a rule of thumb as potentially biasing more pull than push like 1:2 or something like (since the pulling and pushing isn't completely sealed) or is the obstruction of a 140mm hole via a fan (with perforations) sufficient to cause pressure issues.

Furthermore, I assume I should put my exhaust higher than my intake as hot air rises.... Would it be better to use tubing that is larger than the fans for some engineering principle that I'm not aware of? Or, do I need to account for some factor of air resistance that's caused by tubing itself... Finally, would stacking 2 fans on top of each other double the displacement?

With that said - if my reasoning is correct, why do computer towers have so many more fans (do they?) - is this because they are in a non air tight case (and if so, why wouldn't they close it?).

If any of you have some quick intuitions based on education or experience sharing is caring :3. Thank you!

UPDATE: I'm not entirely confident about a single 140mm fan, instead I've decided to go ahead and just buy 2 of something like https://www.amazon.com/Urban-Farmer-Inch-Inline-Booster/dp/B01HSEGA9K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1493405402&sr=8-1&keywords=plant+fan+hvac th and rig up that way :3

-y

Sources: first image www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjN1Lf4xsbTAhUp_4MKHdoiCW0QjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.denofgeek.com%2Fus%2Fmovies%2Fthe-last-airbender%2F246802%2Fthe-last-airbender-what-went-wrong&psig=AFQjCNF32xUaSeXnHt-3jvL_6D7ALtl2Ig&ust=1493448376243482

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75