New GPU's for a New Era of mining

in #mining7 years ago

Good Morning Steemians,

Wow, what a crazy day on the markets yesterday and an ideal time to enter into some great altcoins. I hope you all had as much luck as I did.

As I am sure you all are aware, GPU's have become increasingly hard to purchase in the last couple of months. The influx of new miners is through the roof making the demand for GPU's stupid ridiculous. I have been watching RX480's sell for double what they cost when I bought mine some 6 months ago. My most recent mining rig I built is using 6-gtx 1070's because I simply could not buy an AMD card. I built my 1070 rig about 6 weeks ago and payed 335$/gpu making this by far the most expensive rig to date. Now you can't even come close to buying 1070's for that price! Absolutely CRAZY!!!

Is it me or is there something about that guy ^^^ that just screams crazy?? LOL

So what are us poor miners to do if we wish to expand our mining operations? Not to fear, AMD and Nvidia have come up with an idea to make even more money and save us from this barren wasteland of a market for GPU's.

I actually read about Nvidia's mining specific GPU first but from what I have been able to scratch up it seems that AMD will actually be getting theirs on the market first. (mostly speculation in that last statement)

It seems that AMD will be charging us a little more than what we were paying for 470's with optical outs and these new cards won't even have any... OMG I am killing me here. So take advantage of a market here AMD and drive your stock price up some more...

How does Nvidia respond. Well it appears that they will be putting out their mining specific card at a little bit cheaper rate than what we were used to paying for gaming GPU's and they should considering they will be using components in these cards that were otherwise destined for a trash heap.
"It is very likely that these GPUs have bad display controllers on the chip, allowing NVIDIA to make use of an otherwise unusable product." (www.pcper.com)

On a plus side both companies cards are said to be far more efficient at hashing than our regular gaming GPU's but I will believe that after I have purchased a 6 pack and have them up and running.

Until then it seems to me that both AMD and Nvidia are looking to profit off of the mining community in a big way. This does bother me to an extent but what are we to do?? We are at the mercy of big business as always so we take what we can get.

As always if you like my content, please follow, comment, upvote, and reSteemit!!!

Peace,
The Last Sage

Sort:  

You provide great info. Thank you ;)

Thanks for stopping by! Start posting and following people so that you can get a little exposure and welcome to steemit!
Peace,
The Last Sage

Me and my friend are about to mine, so your article is just in time, thanks!

Thanks for the upvote @crypto-p! I would like to suggest that if you are new to mining that you drop on over to YouTube and watch some of my friends videos! I will post a link to his YouTube channel. He is great at putting together miners but his videos are very long. On another respect though he covers almost anything you could want to know and more.
https://www.youtube.com/user/BitsBeTrippin

Peace,
The Last Sage

Thanks for the heads up on this.

No problem at all. I am here to help if at all possible. I really have enjoyed building mining rigs and I hope to be able to do a 6 card rig with one of these new cards soon! They have to make them available of course... Lol

Peace,
The Last Sage

Yeah, I thought it was pretty awesome you built mining rigs. I've never built one but I would like to in the future. Need to get my a 64 bit computer first. The fam computer is 64 ...but it's the family computer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71