You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New to Mining Cryptocurrency, Want to learn pool mining, Lets Mine some Digibyte to get started.

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Got it to work, but my hashrate is only 1.385M/1.366Mh/s at the moment. Where global hashrate shows 35.50 MH/s. Am I doing something wrong here? Because my GPU should be fine:

NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M

Also it gives me the following message:
Stratum connection to dgbg.suprnova.cc interrupted

Sort:  

That GPU is not very powerful from a mining standpoint, it is a mobile gpu and it just does not have the power of a newer Desktop GPU I am using a Radeon RX480 8GB for instance and I get around 38Mh/s the fact it is Nvidia could also be a problem some miners work better for Nvidia some for AMD, but the research I have done shows AMD tends to mine better. This is a guide to get someone started but every person has different hardware, and there maybe better software for an nvidia /aka different miner etc. I do not use Nvidia so I am not 100% sure, maybe someone will see this that knows more about mining with Nvidia, but I would not expect ALOT from a mobile GPU thanks.

If you are using your laptop to mine, please STOP. You will get very little in return and possibly even destroy your laptop.

Mining harms desktop hardware too, but these GPUs are more resilient and desktops offer better air flow/cooling that a laptop. I have a MSI280x thats running for 3.5yrs now - earned its weight in gold and then some :D

If you are still interested in mining, checkout the ETH contracts on Genesis Mining. Feel free to use my referral code: y4lN1z if you choose to sign up[signup](https://www.genesis-mining.com/signup)

Alternatively invest in some hardware. Do a little research on Coinwarz, HWComparison to figure out what would work for you best and fit in your budget.

You can also check out my post to [learn more about earning BTC](https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@himalayanhasher/bitcoin-basics-and-getting-started-with-cryptocurrencies) or message me if you have questions

@madscientistx13 @himalayanhasher Thank you both for the advice. Yesterday, after doing some research on Google, I read similar things to what you guys are saying. So I decided to go and talk to an aquaintance of mine (pun not intended) in a while, who works with computer hardware as his day-job. Maybe he, together with the links you guys provided, can help me out with picking the best gear for mining.

I don't wanna spend a fortune at first, but just want to get started in a profitable way. Is it, for instance, possible to start off with an investment of say 500 dollars of hardware and make it worth my while, when taking electricity costs and (possible) mining fees into account? In what order of magnitude should I be thinking when it comes to the period that it will take to earn back the initial investment? And what are the do's and don'ts? Which kind of coins should be my main focus, and from which currency's should I stay away as far as possible?

I don't expect you to spoon feed me, but could you perhaps give me a little nudge in the right direction? Your help is, as always, very much appreciated :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49