Hashpower upgrade! Mining in progress: GTX 1060 review

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Finally the GTX 1060 arrived. I couldn't wait to install it.

mining2.png

Mostly for gaming but who doesn't like their PC making money when it's idle? Yesterday I slammed in the new GFX card and it coincided nicely with my payout from NiceHash. I'm starting with a fresh slate and with a new GPU. Not bad at all! You can see my previous post on mining here.

hashpower.png

On Equihash, it earns a solid 0.8-0.9 mBTC a day. I'm aiming for at least 230 Japanese yen a day as my target for uptime and efficiency. Notwithstanding changes in Bitcoin value, I expect to be using this GPU for at least the next 6 months profitably. Instant profitability boost!

Profitability.png

See this? This is mad hashpower.

card.png

The GTX 1060 comes with 3GB of onboard VRAM and is the first "stubby" card I've ever owned. I'm used to graphics cards being the length of a Voodoo 5 card. So having something in such a small package was very cool. Now it's hashing away and heating my desk area. Unfortunately my motherboard can't accept 2 graphics cards so I'll have to upgrade that before considering any dual-mining. Looks like seating the 960 in a spare computer may be the best idea, but since it's already 33% paid for itself I'm not too concerned.

Happy hashing!

Sort:  

Nice! Mine baby mine!!!!!!

Damn right! That's the name of the game! (90s techno music to mine to)

Haha, I wish I had a comp that could mine. I am in desperate need of a new pc. Must earn more Steem so I can buy one!

This is what I listen to when I am playing the crypto markets.


Ten hours straight...

One of my personal faves. At least, there's a positive moral to this song!

"it's better to have loved and lost...than to have never have loved at all!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62946.22
ETH 3453.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50