You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basic Guide: Mining Ethereum with RX400/RX500 GPUs

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Thank you for this write up! I have some XFX 580 cards that were not going over 21Mh with ethOS; I switched to Claymore and that brought them up to 22MH/s; I tried making some tweaks with the bios, just using the ethos atiflash command to save, and then making the modifications on another windows machine using WinSCP to copy the files back and forth; I was able to get them running at 25mH/s with the timing, but the Memory MHz any changes to the 2000 up to 2100 (got 19mHz) then 2200 (got 20mHz), so I dropped that back down to 2000, not sure what is going on there, but there is also a 300Mhz and a 1000Mhz entry in my Memory timings; I noticed you didn't have the 1000Mhz entry; any ideas on what I could be doing wrong, or are these cards just maxed out? Actual model number is RX-580P8DFWR, and it looks like it exceeds the specs on the RX-480 Black Edition, so I'm wondering if there is a way to get it go higher, get an extra 5mH/s out of it. Oh, and BTW, the Polaris software you linked to, would not open my BIOS files as mine were 256K; I had to use a newer version that I got from here: https://github.com/jaschaknack/PolarisBiosEditor

Sort:  

Hi steemir, thanks for your feedback! The version of PBE I linked to is 1.4.1 by elpida. What you've provided would work as well but I found it slightly more difficult to use in that I can't modify the values in place. With the elpida version, it does work with 256k bioses for I had some of them too. Yes, the pictures I posted are for RX4x0 but the concept is the same for the RX5x0. Go ahead and leave the 300 and 1000 as is and modify the 2000 value per my guide. If you had modified the timings according to my post and not getting success, it is likely that you have 580s that came with really good timing already. Start from original rom and only copy timing from 1750 to 2000. Lemme know if that works and best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38