Mining Help Please, I'm going crazy!!!!

in #mining8 years ago

Hi, I've understand ( I think ) how to config miners , but what i don't understand is why after restart pc my miner won't never more find a block, a pow or whatever you want :)

I've a total of 38000 hps, 18 cores.

I've create 5 different account.
I've try to config my miner with multiple witness and multiple miner, mining for 3 day without find nothing.
I've try to config my miner with only one account, found 2 pow but after restart pc never find anymore.
I've try to reinstall from scratch, create another account, configured miner with single account...and no POW found after 4 days....

What's wrong ?!?!?!?!?!?

Only one time I've found 2 pow....why????
Now my miner console "estimated time to produce" floats between 1800 minutes & (sometimes) 450 minutes....

No errors in the console.... today I was looking at the console for 6 consecutive hours ...and my eyeballs are on fire.

Can anyone explain me ? I have only to wait to be lucky? Is there a chance for me to enter in that damn witness-miner queue???

Thanks in advance

Please help me understand

Sort:  

Check and recheck your config file for any errors. I wasn't getting any blocks and realised I had a # still next to one of the parameters. Also 38Khps seems pretty low for 18 cores unless they are very low power. I'm getting 32Khps on a 4 core I7.
Make sure your internet connection is fast and has low latency. If you are getting constant disconnections or delays that might result in missing your place in the mining queue.

Ok thanks for the info, I start to investigate ....

this is my config:

8 Mb SHDSL WAN - good latency in my opinion.
Running Ubuntu 16.04 on a vmware ESXi 5.1 host

  • 2 cpu socket
  • 6 cores for socket
    I've calculated 24 logical processor to assign. ( considering the hypertread feature )
    I've assigned 16 cores to my miner VM and set 16 thread in config file.
    I've to calc phisical cpu (12) instead of logical (24)? Is this my error?
    Other to suggest?

I'm not sure if you can use virtual cores to mine in fact I suspect you probably can't. They can help with things like video encoding but I would ensure you are only using actual real cores to mine.

So it looks like you have 12 real cores. That should be the max core number you should use but due to reasons I will suggest you might be better with less cores.

For example I've also heard that you need a lot of RAM for mining STEEM and there may be a minimum that is required per CPU core - so that may be another factor that may actually limit you further - the fact that you are only getting about 38Khps it may be that you only have enough Ram for about 5 cores to mine.

Another thing I though of was cooling - generally CPUs with higher core counts (6+) tend to have lower maximum clock speeds and they may also throttle down more easily because of the greater heat density. It might be worth checking to see what kind of temps the cores are running at - mining may be causing excessive throttling of your cores. I know there is plenty of software to monitor these things in windows but not sure about Ubuntu.

As an experiment it might be worth starting with a config of 4 cores and testing to see what kind of results you get in terms of hashrate, then gradually increasing the core count until you stop getting any increase or even get a decrease.

The other thing is it may be a VM problem. I'm just running directly in Ubuntu so can't really comment on that - but if it is a dedicated mining machine you could try a direct ubuntu install - you could even make a separate partition to run it on.

The fact that you are getting a hashrate, estimated time to block and witness information suggests to me that mining is actually occurring so it may just be that you have been very unlucky in not getting a block to solve. I would still try the things I've suggested above though because you may end up getting better results and a higher hashrate.

If none of the above works I would suggest posting again

Congratulations @skyneth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.1 and reading ease of 84%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Nice @skyneth
Shot you an Upvote :)

Thank you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65