You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basic Guide: Mining Ethereum with RX400/RX500 GPUs

in #mining7 years ago

Yes, this is absolutely awesome! Where did you settle for memory on the XFX GTR Black Edition? A couple of mine are having trouble over 2100, but I also think it may be a riser issue.

Sort:  

I am running my XFX cards, including the the Black Edition, at 1191 gpu core and 2191 vram. Most of them are consuming, per GPU-Z, between 72w to 80w. They are pretty awesome cards. If I had to guess, the card may be starving for power... The other situation I have encountered where all my cards running at a lower frequency was due to software settings that needed to be cleared.

Try following these steps to see if you could figure out why the card isn't getting over 2100.

  1. Restore GPU to stock rom.
  2. Run DDU (assuming windows) in safe mode to clean out drivers.
  3. Reinstall Crimson drivers 16.11.5. Reboot. This does not make sense but it would undo settings that are set by software such as MSI Afterburner, before you mine, go to Radeon settings and reset the configuration to default for all cards.
  4. Mine and you should see 24MH/s.
  5. Mod the orignal rom and change the timings only, then flash to card. (assuming rom name v1)
  6. Mine and you should see 28MH/s.
  7. Mod "v1" and up vram frequency to 2200. (saving rom as v2)
  8. Mine and you should see 29-30MH/s or more. Ensure that the hash rate does not continue to drop while mining. Monitor with GPU-Z and watch the GPU and Memory usage %. It should stay at 100% if the card likes the mod.
  9. Repeat steps 7 and 8 until you see that stability.
  10. Once you get a stable vram frequency, proceed to tune the core frequency if you would like to be more power efficient. Otherwise, all done...

I have not encountered a card that can't go above 2100 yet but that could be a crap shoot really... some may say to look at the ASIC quality in GPU-Z but I have a card that is 64% that outperforms another card that is 92%. Go figure!

Hope this helps!

Thank you for the follow up information it's incredibly helpful. I'm using ethOS and haven't put these cards in a Windows box, but will try and tweak the best I can through BIOS mods and the ethOS config.

Are you flashing the card to 1191 and 2191 or are you using a config to manage those more granular tweaks?

You may be right about the card starving for power, I have them all set with a ptune of 3. Do you set a ptune value or let the new timings decide?

You're welcome. I use ethOS as well because it is far superior in stability than Windows but I found tuning by software something that I am unable to get a firm grasp on so I have resorted to bios mods only. So yes, I am flashing the card to the specifications in Windows and then mining in ethOS without further tuning.

So far so good, the unstable cards are hashing again and seem to be doing well. I also have 24x MSI 580 8G Armor's and using your methods have been hashing at or near 30Mh/s for 22 hours. This really is the best guide out there and I can't thank you enough for the thoroughness provided in your post.

ethOS has been the ideal OS for mining and the only thing I found lacking was notification services, so I built one. If you are interested it's currently in beta and you can sign up at ethOSOps.com. There is no installation as it monitors your panel and either sends you hourly notifications or immediate alerts. Here is an example of the hourly that I currently get, ethOSOps - Hourly Notification.

Thanks again!
Scott

I am glad that my article was able to help you! I took a quick look at what you have built and it is looking good! I use Claymore's miner so I was able to monitor all my rigs via the remote manager. I can see how what you have built will be invaluable to the folks that uses other miners. Excellent work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38