Miners - Bitshares - Bitcoin Latina BCL - Heads Up to GPU Miners

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

You may or may not know that Stan Larimer is one of the founders of Bitcoin Latina.

If you aren't familiar with Bitcoin Latina, their site is www.bitcoinlatina.org .

It's an Ethereum hardfork that's built with everything in mind, and built right.

Anyway, check it out. From now until tomorrow night, you can get any BCL you buy
doubled automatically when you buy on Bitshares....which is also the only place to buy.

I thought wow, that sounds interesting, so I got a little....then I looked into mining it.

Here is my readout from mining the only pool I know of so far:
bcl.png


This particular rig is not ultra powerful, but it hashes at 120Mh for Ethereum on the Claymore Miner.
This rig has been running for about 10 hours......BCL is trading at a minimum of about $8/token.

I went back to Bitshares and sold it right back. I've already mined more than I bought, and will have far more
than double what I has bought by tomorrow night at midnight.

I got Ethos to connect to the pool. It doens't say it's mining BCL, but it still mines correctly.
Dual Mining did significantly slow down the BCL mining, so it's running solo on that rig.

If price holds even half the starting value (which only goes up in sales price on the DEX for the released coins),
then this changes a 120Mh rig working Ethereum and SC/LBRY from making approximately $15/day to $288/day at the current difficulty. That's at half value.....yes, read those numbers again.

That's a bone for today.

Sort:  

how do I mine and what do I need? I have a macbook pro lol... good enough?

Lol me too

twins!

Lol, that is my starsign ( I dont believe in starsigns though)

You can use a gaming computer to mine efficiently when you're not using it. It won't be fast, but there are only about 50 Miners in the pool on this one so far. It's about to explode after this weekend I think!

Basically you need very powerful GPUs. This was implemented in Ethereum as ASIC miners took over BTC mining. Unfortunately GPUs are EXTREMELY expensive because of mining. I found my cards in a bundle deal and had to buy and sell a bunch of CPUs to get the GPUs in the combo. those cards were $300 then. Now, that brand is not available anywhere, and all other companies are selling the equivalent (but not really even equivalent, just the same model) now for anywhere from 600-1200 bucks. go to http://ethosdistro.com/ for info on the OS and the cards needed (8Gb Cards are preferred)

I use the cards for dedicated rigs running Ethos OS on specialized motherboards.

haha.....so no....the macbook wont cut it!

I don't think price will hold that high for long, and you can't even deposit them yet to sell them, so it's a risk, but getting in this early makes it worth your time even if the price crashes at launch.

I have been thinking about doing a detail on a simple rig, but since cards are sold out EVERYWHERE, it seemed a little pointless....but hey, why not. It takes some learning and time, but it has paid itself off way faster than planned with the latest boom, and new coins are going to GPU to keep mining decentralized.

thanks! you said cards are sold out everywhere meaning I cant buy the mining equipment anywhere?

You may be able to find something.....but.....
cards.png
(They all say not available)
That's pretty much every retailer on the planet.
Third party sellers for way too much, or just flat out unavailable.

http://www.gpushack.com sells rig equipment (worth looking at even if you can't buy, just to familiarize yourself with what you need), but even they aren't selling any kits with cards right now. Hey man, I got SUPER lucky and found some last summer....when they were supposedly not able to be found....worth a look.

lol damn, lucky you
Ill be on the lookout now on ebay amazon craigslist even :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38