building my first mining rig

in #mining7 years ago

Samsung-Builds-Bitcoin-Mining-Rig-Using-Old-Phones.jpg

I started out a month ago studying building a mining rig and is it really worth it,I have came to the conclusion that it is worth it even though you get lots of negative feed back which is common in anything.My build is going to be a small build.I am going to start out small because i still am learning with that said it will be a 2-3 gpu mining rig,I will list a parts list below.But knowing how i am i could end up spending more.

Motherboard: AsRock H81 PRO BTC $160
processor: Intel celeron G1840 $45
Memory: 4GBDDR3 $20
Power supply: 1200 w seasonic platinum $260
GPUs: 3xGigabyte GTX 1060 windforce OC $259.95 each
Boot Device: 60GB SSD or USB stick(linux) $5-$35
case build or buy: $35-$200

The above list might change i bought the motherboard but still have to buy other parts or see what i already have on my quad core i build in 2007.I am open for suggestions or help,my power supply is only around 450w in my old pc not sure if its big enough most likely not.some old pictures of the beast back in the day lol
20180106_011145.jpg
20180106_011417.jpg
20180106_011246.jpgI

anyways maybe i can use some of the old fans or something wish the motherboard worked it was a good board.
looking forward to the feedback
thanks for now.

Sort:  

First of all let me welcome you to your new addiction lol I have a blast mining but it does take a lot of time to get it all set up, but the extra income is worth it. This is just the beginning, you'll be wanting to expand soon. That 1200 watts PSU is overkill, the a max power of of the 1060 is 150 you can downclock them to 100 or even less just depends on the card and you dialing them in. so your 450 watt should be fine for 3 cards just make sure you have enough power connections. I run 4 GTX 1080 it's off a 1200 PSU. You'll probably want to order some PCIe Risers, you can space out your cards more so they'll stay cooler. you can pretty much use anything for a case there's actually a lot of videos on YouTube of people using milk crates or you can build out of angle aluminum. good luck man let me know if you have anymore questions....have fun

yeah the was a list someone gave me like over a month ago and i was like before i buy this stuff i want to do some research,So the only thing i have actually bought is the motherboard.I have noticed these GPUS are like hit and miss some are seems lately its been the gtx 1060s lol

i think it is worth also to consider a sort of hdd-gpu-cpu mining rig hybrid. which should be the best option in future.
GPU mining as usual - probably ethereum or something more profitable. (genesis mining is my favorite if you can pull it off)
CPU mining works best with Monero or Electrum soon. small money for the cpu mining, but why not use it...
HDD mining is an interesting thing. Burstcoin does something like this at the moment but its not very profitable. things will change when Substratum pulls out their p2p-internet attempt, where you will be rewarded for hosting chunks of the internet(data) and there are more coins like this. Siacoin (cloudstorage), MaidSafecoin (p2p internet) and many more.
i'm not saying its worthwhile at the moment, but its definitely something to keep an eye on ;)
cheers and happy mining

yeah i have been trying to setup this burst mining i done the plot and stuff but i couldnt get it to work when i click the change reward assignment. the box wont come up for the name and stuff but also i have no burst in my account.I used all the faucets and when i fixed the warning error on it the cost was 1 burst which i didnt know it was going to charge me 1 burst maybe thats why i cant get the mining to work.

if i remember correctly you have to get a public key that you can only get by sending burst to an address which has a public key already. or something. there was a tutorial somewhere... but its 6am where i am right now ;)
send me your address and i'll kick 5 coins your way to solve this :)
...tomorrow ^^ cheers

Hey sorry for the delay have been sick,i think this is my address if im not mistaken.BURST-MDK8-54VR-4KE7-FQTCH

Is that a 8800 GTS that I see??? That thing was BEAST back in the day! Awesome that you still have it. I still have a 8800 GT somewhere lol. Welcome to mining, it's an addiction man. I think you'll do ok with the 1060s, you'll definitely want to get more cards once you see the $ come in. I wouldn't focus on CPU or HD mining at all, the payout compared to the power usage just isn't worth it. If you wanted to get a general idea on how much your CPU would earn you daily you could use the built in benchmark that Nicehash offers and test it out for an hour or so. I stick with the GPUs, first I started out with a single 1080, a couple of months later I invested more cards and now have two 1080s and two 1080ti. I'm making decent earnings but also plan to buy 2 more cards.

agreed! i was just stating, hdd mining might be worth to consider in future with stratum and other developments. cpu mining is nowhere compared to gpu, but since you got a cpu running anyway. it definitely pays for its electricity...
back in the days (2013) i mined 1mil bytecoin just like this. was barely worth its electricity and now i'm VERY happy about that ;)

That's awesome to hear, the reward for you was very much worth it! You've definitely been in the game a lot longer than I have so I'm sure you have a lot more knowledge to share. In 2013 I never even heard of mining, didn't get into it until June-July of 2017. Would like to follow you.

P.S my wife has family in Faial and Terceira

why would my post earning go down in value what causes that

Yeah i am mainly going to work with GPU i feel honestly that's the best way.I have been looking at the various Algo's it seems that from what i have seen Crypto night,Equihash and ethash maybe even neo scrypt is the best types of coins to mine,i was looking over the card types at whattomine.com. What seems to be most popular algorithm to mine with the gtx 1060 just curious even though i noticed it seems to always change.GBX seems like a good one to go after who knows lol

Congratulation

Today one year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

Congratulations @playnpool! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@playnpool, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Congratulations @playnpool! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43