You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heard About Mining, But Don't Know Where to Start? Here's How to Start Today With Your PC!

in #mining7 years ago

I have tried mining for the past 3 months since joining Steemit and so far the result has not been so great.

My laptop hardware is not so good even if I have an AMD :(

Btw the laptop is 5 years old.

Sort:  

Yes. That's one of the unfortunate parts. Now that mining has become so popular, the difficulty is beyond what most computers can handle effectively. I was fortunate that I began mining before the XMR price spike around a month ago.

There are some currencies that you can mine more effectively, but finding the right tools to do so can be difficult.

What currency have you been mining?

I have tried ETH, ZEC, Dash and the some other less known ones.

ZEC was the best among them

Thanks for stopping by!

What kind of a setup were you using to mine the ZEC?

I had an AMD GPU 2.6 GHz quad core and I was using suprnova.cc as pool for the various coins.

I have tried many of the different mining software so see if there is a change but they are pretty much the same..

Well it sounds like you've explored all of your options. It's always worth a shot to see if you can be profitable. If only we had begun this several years ago...

Haha this is exactly what I told myself! I heard of Bitcoin first in 2012, heard about mining in 2013 and I started mining in 2017 when the difficulty has risen so much :(

Unfortunately, I didn't hop on the Bitcoin train until last fall. I still should have bought a whole coin when they were $700, but oh well. All we can do now is get involved and hope for more good returns.

How did you first hear about Bitcoin so early?

I was in the UK doing my Masters in Network security.

So we had guest lectures and there was a talk about blockchain and this is when I first heard of Bitcoin.

Since it had such a bad reputation with the FBI looking for Satoshi, I didn't pay attention to Bitcoin..

What about you? How were you introduced to Bitcoin?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53