My Cryptocurrency Mining Adventure

in #mining7 years ago

Hi.
My name is Nick and I am 14 years old. I enjoy working with technology and love cryptocurrency. My adventure with cryptocurrency started with an Instagram photo I saw. Some computer page had posted a computer with around 10 GPUS in it. Someone had commented and asked, "Are you going to be Bitcoin mining with that?" This comment really intrigued me, already knowing that Bitcoin was a form of currency. That night, I did not go to sleep and I tried to understand what mining was and started mining Bitcoin with my GPU, lol. After realizing that GPU mining was not worth it mining Bitcoin, I wanted to purchase an ASIC miner to begin making money. Now only being 14, I had to speak to my dad and explain what was happening. After days of talking him into it, he finally let me buy an Antminer S7. I was so happy to be making less than 3$ a day, I guess it was the fact that I was making money, without having to do anything. Next thing you know, it arrives and I plug everything in, it doesn't work. After talking to the customer support representative over at Oregon Mines, they decided it would be best to just send out another controller. After that arrived, my Antminer S7 began mining away and making me small amounts of crypto. I knew that this wasn't enough for me. I needed to figure out a cost effective way to make more money. This lead me into GPU mining for Ethereum. I began mining with my GTX 970 in my main computer. It got me around 18 mh/s which wasn't too bad. I then later talked my mom into buying the parts to build a 4 GPU rig to mine Ethereum. After tons of time convincing her, she finally said yes. We decided to split the rig cost 50/50. In total, after making some silly purchases (an ssd I didn't need, 4 fans worth 80$ that I definitely didn't need) The total cost was about $2000. All the parts came and I began building it. I still use this rig today and I make around 15$ a day. After making some money from the rig, I spent it on 2 more GPUS, so I could have a 6 GPU rig. I am still waiting for the GPUS, they are expected to arrive soon and I am very excited. I hope to be making over 20$ a day! I have talked to family members and my parents about what I want to do with cryptocurrency mining. I want to expand to a good sized warehouse, or even use shipping containers on a small sized property to house many rigs. (I have also sent a few emails to BitFury inquiring about their Immersion Cooled shipping containers that house 15 pentahash to mine Bitcoin). This has been my adventure in cryptocurrency up to know, I hope to write more stories about what I do in the future with crypto.
Thanks for reading,
Nick.

Sort:  

Wow! Pretty impressive and a very ambitious young man. I wish I had the mindset when I were you age to be go after what I wanted. How are your monthly electricity cost? Those are things to factor in when deciding to mine at home, I have no doubt you've factor this into your profits.

My kWh is 9 cents, so its alright, if I do have to chance of expanding to a warehouse or something along those lines, it will be 6 cents, so that would be really nice. :) So with that Antminer and the GPU rig running, they are about 200$ total each month. Thanks for reading.

No problem. Are you just mining ETH or ETC as well?

Just ETH at the moment, and my 1 Antminer S7 lol!

Hi Nick, great post. I wish I was as aware as you are when I was 14, kinda regret it now.

Thanks for sharing your story!!impressive!! you are very ambitious!! Good luck nickstgermain:)
Upvoted and Followed !! love to know your more experiences !!

Thank you, deepti.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45