Final prep before mining!

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

http


Hey all,Hey all,

I'm now on the final stretch to getting my mining rig up and running. After the usual delays with securing graphics cards, I now have all the parts except for the CPU and PSU, both of which are arriving next week. For just the highlights, I'm using an AsRock 110+ Pro, and 10 x MSI Rx 580 Armor 4Gb OC. I'm leaving those additional 3 PCIe slots on the mobo open to be filled either with some 1070s, Vegas or something else. Haven't decided yet.


Anyway, while I'm waiting on the last few parts, I'm in the process of getting everything else organised. I've setup wallets for a variety of coins that look to be worth mining. Dual mining Ethereum and Decred seems to be the best option right now. Lbry is tempting because of how I think its price will go, but we'll see soon.


So, while I'm getting things together, I have a few questions that I'm hoping people here can help with. There will be more pics as the build gets underway!


1. Overclocking and BIOS modding

I've been reading a lot about this. While Anorak seems to be one of the leaders in this, there's all sorts of different results floating around. It certainly seems that if you break 30mh/s or higher, you're doing well. But then there's things like memory timing modding where people are getting up to 33-34. So, what I'm wondering is if there is any reliable source or guide on getting up into the 30+ range?


2. Does extra cooling work give me any extra advantage?

Where the rig is going to be located is constantly very cold. Annually it has an average ambient air temperature around the 17C mark, if not colder. So, in my head, this is beneficial for the GPUs, if even to prolong their life. But, what I'm wondering is, if they're kept cooler, can they be clocked a little harder to get a higher hashrate?


3. Developer fee 0 on claymore?

Ok I've seen a few people mention that changing the developer fee to 0 on claymore has no effect on their mining speed, despite the intention that it should. Is anyone else doing that?


4. Is there anything else I'm missing?

As a firm believer in doing your research first, I've been spending a LOT of time researching and preparing all of this. So while I feel I've learnt a lot, I'm trying to figure out if there's anything I've missed?


As ever, thanks all!

n

Sort:  

Following you! +vote

Congratulations @neill! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67