DIY Mining Rig - Basic Build for $600

in #mining7 years ago

My DIY mining rig is here! I spent about $600 total for the initial setup. Soon i will buy more cards to add more hashing power to the rig. Here is a picture of all the parts i bought.IMG_20170710_223053.jpg
Motherboard : Biostar tb85 130$
Ram: 4 gb Altec 25$
GPU: 1060 GTX 6GB $260
CPU: Intel Celeron $52
HDD: Toshiba 160gb $23
PSU: EVGA 850 gold $100
Wireless adapter: EDUP Wifi Adapter 300Mbps $12
Totaling $602
Not including the PCI e risers that i bought for the new cards and HDMI to hook up to my monitor.

I will say i had some difficulties getting this running. First off i wasn't connecting directly to the graphics card to get a display when it was connected. Otherwise it would not show a screen. So without through testing it i would change operating systems 3 different times finally to get Windows 7 (the original OS i used) to work.

After i got it working and i started to set up the Dual Claymore Miner on it to mine Ethererum and Siacoin. I had some problems here because i didn't have a clue about the software. I kept trying to start it up using the .exe file that it comes with and always ended up with an error of there not being a pool. Well a friend figured this one out for me. Saying that i should be starting it up using that windows batch file i edited. Now everything is running great. Im gettin 22 Mh/s on Eth and 221 Mh/s on Sia. Soon i will be selling off steem to get more cards. The motherboard supports up to 6 GPUs with PCI e risers. I have also decided to not buy the 6gb cards rather buy the 3gb and save 40$ per card off newegg.com. I use newegg because the accept bitcoin and have relatively good prices.

Well that is it. Thanks for reading my post. I will be updating my earnings on here so if your into mining give me a follow. I am new to mining myself and hope this to be a great experience. Please comment, upvote, and resteem. Thanks for your support.

~ManoIMG_20170712_165249.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post. I just Followed you. Please follow me.

ok;) even tho you didn't vote my post

Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us. I was thinking about doing something similar, but I had no idea how to go about it.

Damn it's cheaper to build a rig in the US!
I know the struggle you went through, installing and setting up the hardware and software.
Nice post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33