Lessons Learned from Melting 100 Bitcoin

in #mining8 years ago

It was three years ago today, August 6th, 2013.

The long wait for my Avalon ASIC 3 bitcoin miner was finally over. Almost my entire stash of bitcoin went into this purchase (just over 100btc). Based on the bitcoin mining calculators at the time, this thing was going to pay off my mortgage and then some. Unfortunately, it showed up several months beyond the promised delivery date which, given the increase in difficulty, meant I wasn't going to be rich anytime soon. In fact, I was worried about breaking even.

I hooked it up, plugged it in, and... it didn't work. I tried again, after double checking all the cables. It started, ran for a bit, and then stopped. I tried a few more times, and it finally started working. I was earning bitcoin! Success! Man, the thing was way louder than I expected. The whole bonus room echoed with the fan noise, and the heat was already starting to spread. @corinnestokes was not pleased.

When I woke up the next morning, I was the proud owner of 0.75 newly minted bitcoin. I was so excited! I went to a meeting and when I came back, I could tell the miner wasn't running because the fans weren't at full speed. Then came the smell. The acidic, acrid smell of burnt electronics. Later I realized just how close I had come to burning down my house.

My Bitcoin Miner Was Dead


melteda35ff.jpg

When I first opened up the case, this is what I saw:


image_508009.jpg
image_714789.jpg

I took the parts out and photographed the damage:


IMG_2430bed51.jpg
IMG_2432cda6b.jpg
IMG_244556ee4.jpg
IMG_2439ac6c8.jpg

I was devastated. Almost all of my bitcoin, gone. After months of anticipation, watching the difficulty increase and my dreams of incredible profits dwindle away, it was all gone. I could still feel the excitement of the package delivery the day before, and now there was only despair. What was I going to do?

The problem, I later discovered, was my own idiotic mistake. I didn't plug things in properly. Due to some very odd wiring and lack of good isolation on the control board, power came from the wrong places, through wires not intended for that purpose.

I felt like such an idiot. I've been building my own computers since high school, and yet I felt like an imposter. I failed at being a geek.

That's when I turned to the bitcointalk.org community. You can see my posts here, here, and here.

Long story short, the demand for Avalon ASIC 3 chips was still so high, in spite of the charred pictures I featured in my forum posts, people wanted to buy them. I started auctioning off everything, using trusted escrow accounts. Slowly but surely, I began shipping boards and components to those who wanted them. Incredibly, when all was said and done, I recovered a total of 66 of my lost 100 bitcoin. On top of that, the price of bitcoin increased to the point where my USD holdings broke even with the initial value I started with.

It could have been a total loss. Or worse, a house burned to the ground. Instead, I gained hope in a community and learned some important lessons.

  1. If electronics don't work on the first try, stop. Something is probably wrong.
  2. Don't let excitement get the best of you. I wasn't thinking rationally because I was too excited after such a long wait.
  3. It's never a total loss. No matter how bad things are, they could be worse. There are always more options. Look for the silver lining and find an angle which enables you to benefit others.
  4. When looking for help, be transparent. Admit your failures and let the community of humanity surprise you.
  5. Don't mine bitcoin. Really, it's just not worth it, unless you happen to own a data center in China. Blogging is the new mining anyway. :)

Steem On

-- Luke Stokes --

Sort:  

@lukestokes Nice to see a old school bitcoiner here. For all of those who read this great article these are the most important words Luke said.

"Don't mine bitcoin. Really, it's just not worth it" - Luke Stokes

Please heed these words especially when it comes to cloud mining. Because of the ever increasing difficulty you will never, I repeat never earn your investment back.

It's funny to think just three years ago puts me in the "old school bitcoiner" category. :)

I know right. So much happens in the bitcoin space I feel like I am a thousand years old!

Thanks for this. Now when my wife gets upset that I'm mining on steemit I can tell her your story and she'll just be thankful I can't burn the house down :)

Wow!!, 100 BTC is a great loss, but like you said, blogging is the new mining.

I'm glad I got 66 of them back, at least. :)

Thanks for sharing your experiences.
I have learnt my lesson too with Black Arrow Mining ;-) and got scammed on Hashocean a few weeks ago :-) Absolut agree- Do not mine bitcoin.

Ugh. So many cloud hashing scams out there. Sorry to hear you got burned.

Thank you. All good. I made my experiences this summer with cloud mining and mlm systems ( amazing 5 and beonpush ) so I have burned 4 k but finally arrived on Steemit ;-)

Just looking at those pictures made me a bit queasy. I know next to nothing about cryptocurrency right now, except that mining BTC is way more involved than I could even consider. Good to see things turned out well for you, as far as the recoup.

Yeah, three years later, and I still have a little twinge. It's good to get it out there though as it has very little influence on me now, compared to when it happened.

trying to construct my own miner, your info is useful

@dumar022 Don't do it!! I guess if it is a hobby or if you have free electricity that's cool. Otherwise its a complete loss.

i have constructed some kinda my own wind generator, it can produce 650w 220V on the windy weather... i have to perfect this...

For bitcoin? The difficulty... is high. Good luck. :)

Those 34 bitcoin you lost. You must feel the smell of burnt dollars whenever you think of bitcoin.

Yeah, but win some, lose some. A positive attitude is one of the key features of any successful person.

A cautionary tale! This again confirms the fact that every problem is an opportunity in disguise. And I would add - the story is that you should never give up ;) Thank you, @lukestokes!

Heheh. For sure!

never_give_upd02a3.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55938.98
ETH 2932.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21