I'm having an ABSOLUTE terrible time getting my 6 GPU mining rig running... ugh

in #mining7 years ago

breaking-computer-clipart-1.jpg

Trying to build a 6 GPU mining rig and having an absolute terrible experience.

Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 R5 board with 6 pci-e slots
6 RX 480 GPUs
1000 watt platinum Seasonic PSU

Built a nice all wood rack, pci-e risers kit with SATA power connectors to make easy use of the PSU cables. Only 2 GPUs per SATA cable so should be ok there...

Win7 will not initialize more than 4 GPUs, and I'm getting an awesome 0xEA BSOD code. Basically the code means a GPU is dying. GREAT!

Waiting on an SSD to get here, and will run Win10 to get AT LEAST 5 GPUs running, but don't know how I'm going to troubleshoot the "dying" GPU. I have a feeling its a resource issue, IRQ thing, with the PCI (not pci-e) wifi adapter I have to use because I don't have a 30 foot ethernet cable.

I'm just ranting, but this sucks. I have 147+ MH/s capability for ETH mining, but my computer wont,get this... COMPUTE!!!

Is it because I'm trying to go hard on an all AMD setup? Most ppl run Intel machines with options such as "PCIE GEN 2" and other things. My board has none of that stuff. Kind of regretting procuring 6 of these GPU's when I could've just kept the 3 I originally had for Crossfire...

Do you have an AMD board / CPU combo with 6+ GPUs? Send me any protips you may have.

I am most def a huge computer guy, but this 6 GPU mining rig has been a CHALLENGE to say the least.

Sort:  

You need a better PSU, get something around 1600w.
I think 1000w is not enough for a 6 GPU setup.

The problem is, after trying 6 GPUs (and after troubleshooting have discovered a bad GPU) the rig will still crash with 5 cards. 150watt x 5 GPUs is only 750 watts, plus 100 watt for the board. CPU is barely utilized mining, so its not under load. No reason I should be crashing with 5 cards on a badass 1000watt PSU.

Its just a jenk board I guess... I've got a couple ideas, but not in a hurry to get upset more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58399.10
ETH 2475.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38