Who here remember old days of butterfly labs ?

in #mining5 years ago

I have sold all those miners after some time. Pretty much didnt lose. How about you guys ?

This was the first ASIC ever if i remember.

I have also had this one.

What about you? When did you start mining and what were your machines.

Sort:  

I remember friends of mine angries with them, all the delays and stuff. I prefer mining with graphic cards, in the worst scenario I can use them for VR in ultra hd with 300 fps.

Ah yes... butterfly labs. I remember when one of them was announced for the first time and being pretty hyped for it. I forget which model it was, but I really wanted one at the time. I didn't have the money for one so I didn't make a purchase, but they've always been one of the more interesting miners to me. I've even considered buying some used ones just for the nostalgia of it, even if they're borderline useless now.

Other than that, I've never owned and asic or really plan on owning one other than to have a piece of crypto history.

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to have some of these in Second Life, lol 😆. They would "mine" linden dollars and would gradually stop mining as the "difficulty" of the machine increased, it was amazing 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

I never got into mining because by the time I figured it all out the difficulty was way to high for me to do it practically. I always thought it was more efficient to invest into projects rather than into hardware and electricity.

Congratulations @kingscrown! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1300 posts. Your next target is to reach 1400 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I remember preordering mine, and then waiting and waiting... I eventually received my BFL unit after the difficulty and price made it impossible to make a profit mining BTC with it. I sold it to some guy on Craigslist and recouped some of my loss a few months later. I’m pretty sure BFL was using my ASIC and its other customer’s units to mine for itself instead of shipping them out to customers as promised.

I actually owned quite a few ASICS over the years. My favorite was the Ant Miner S1.

Hi @kingscrown!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.319 which ranks you at #34 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 35).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44