My Mining Journey + Nvidia GTX 1060 Mining Review

in #mining7 years ago

Hello! This is my first online article. I want to make my article as straight to the point as possible and use more screenshots so you guys do not have to read so much. I am giving real life numbers and my experiences. I hope it provides enough basic/good information for new miners alike. (I am new to mining too and this covers things that I have learnt over the past 2 months myself. I appreciate inputs for any pros that come across this article.)

Before I start, my current rig is:

Intel i7 3770
Asrock Extreme4 H77Z
Corsair Vengeance 16gb 4x4
256gb HDD
650W 80% Bronze XFX Pro PSU

The mining app I used for this review is Nicehash.

And yes this is my day to day use PC for work/gaming hence the spec is different from those hardcore miner rigs. I am targeting readers that are using their daily PC for mining like me.

I bought myself 2 units of GTX 1060s.

IMG_1542.JPG
IMG_1544.JPG
IMG_1837.JPG
IMG_1838.JPG

I went for GTX 1060 becuase I did not want to spend too much money(About 400AUD Each) as this is my very first time mining crypto currencies. I do not have any expert/community to guide me at the place I stay in(Western Australia). The only help/advice I can get is from my friends overseas(Malaysia- Credit @qme988 @kennyw @chakumon).

RX 470 RX 480 RX 570 RX 580 are either out of stock or their are extremely expensive here at the moment when I made my purchase. Average price would be around 450-600AUD.

The spec of the cards are:
IMG_1535.JPG
IMG_1536.JPG

Without overclocking the memory, both cards runs at only 18-19MH/s (dagger). But with minor tweaks, I was pleasantly surprised.

Notice that both these cards are using Samsung Memory, hence I am able to overclock the memory clock to +900mhz for Zotac(I can go +950 but it is not too stable) and +1000mhz for MSI stable! Both core clock has been overclocked to only +100mhz. I noticed that 70% works fine for both the card.

IMG_1538.JPG
IMG_1537.JPG

And the Results?

IMG_1548.JPG

A whopping 24.5MH/s for Zotac and 24.8 MH/s for Dagger.

Personally I think it gives a good run for the money as with the settings above, each card is drawing about 90watts as compared to higher tiers cards or even AMD cards. This applies especially if your location electricity bill is expensive.

Worthy mention:
GTX 1060 runs at 300 sols/s on equihash, giving it a remarkable 3.33sols/watt. This is really efficient as most of other cards are running at below 3sols/watt.

At the time of writing, I have ordered Gigabyte RX 580 8gb Gaming and Galax GTX 1070 HOF. If I get good response from this article, I will do reviews on those cards. And also, if you wish me to add anything else in my article, just leave it in the comment. I will take note of it and add it to my upcoming reviews.

If there is any newbie that wishes me to explain miner/mining process/mining pool or even editing of .bat file, I can create another article for that.

Donations is welcome. I will use the donations to buy more cards for more review:)

BTC: 3NSf7eavEYvuFHb9WEqcDTMnyYmyj3THH1
ETH: eef6c5664e08ebc53aa95e3406a1f4a12e7214c81032cd7b5e106b6a88eb300e

Sort:  

Cant wait for more reviews on different GPUs

Cheers mate :D

Pls share ROI

I can see your account is somewhat new.

so I thought I'd send my late regards.

There is an upvote for you and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!

you will get many upvote your post.

As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those first upvotes so my advice would be to give steemfollower.com a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use.go to--> steemfollower.com

Congratulations @kahhua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50