Mining: Getting Started

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Want to try a bit of mining as a taster?

If you're like me as I was a few months ago and want to dip your CPU/GPU/ASIC power into the deep seas that is cryptocurrency mining, you'll probably want a way that works for any OS, is simple, and gives you a decent reward (or at least enough that you'll break even). Unless you want to do hire someone to cloud mine for you, I stumbled across a really simple way to mine a few months back. (This isn't sponsored by the way)

download.png

I found the tool Minergate - simple because it removes the hassle of port forwarding, trying to find a good pool, finding the best currency to mine, etc.

Some benefits and detriments I found:

Pros

  • Can work on almost any OS (certainly every major OS)
  • No need to port forward (especially useful for double router homes like myself)
  • Has multiple currencies you can pick one out of or auto mine the most profitable
  • Has it's own pool so you don't have to have the best PC to make money
  • CPU, GPU and ASIC mining can all be configured
  • Easy setup: download and run!

Cons

  • Most of the currencies are pretty minor
  • Withdraw limit can take a while to reach with an average computer
  • Mining speed is a bit slower then otherwise due to lack of port forwarding (although pretty minor)

Some tools that will come in useful:

  • Shapeshift.io (converting coins into Steem or other things)
  • Changelly (for the coins Shapeshift won't accept)

Overall, I think that you should try this before moving onto more serious mining if you want to do so, or just for recreational purposes.

@junu944

Sort:  

My problem with Miner Gate is that the Benchmark always crashes at 4/9. I posted the problem in Miner Gate Forum, but admn has to verify new post before they are visible. Im waiting almost a week now for the my post to get visible already...

In NiceHash doing the Benchmark made huge difference in mining output, so I dont want to run Miner Gate without it.

I'm pretty sure that the benchmark doesn't have to be done... pretty sure you can just mine straight off.
Anyway, thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58