You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heard About Mining, But Don't Know Where to Start? Here's How to Start Today With Your PC!

in #mining7 years ago

Interesting article. I've stopped mining XMR because it was hardly generating profit on my hardware. Instead I started mining Gridcoin. It doesn't make much profit neither but at least I'm contributing to science.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your comment!

I actually just found out about Gridcoin yesterday. I'm attempting to get started with it because I'm a graduate researcher, so I understand the importance of people lending their processing power to scientific pursuits. Seems like a good idea to me.

We have a very helpful community. If you have issues just reach out. You could configure BOINC to only take a part of your computing resources while you discover it and continue mining XMR at the same time.

The thing is, it's more than a money incentive alone. It's fun and really contributing, doing useful work instead of useless hashing.

I've already got the CPU of my mining machine tasked on BOINC. It was fairly easy to setup using the instructions on the grcpool website. It does feel good to be contributing.

I was also giving my resources to BOINC back home
Left the PC running for days, in the end I helped cancer research, so that felt good.
Now, if some of the volunteers come to me asking for money, I ask them, have you heard of BOINC?

Nobody has, then I tell them I already helped with cancer research, you should do the same , using your PC ( or your mobile device).. and I get weird looks cause they only want my money.

That's an interesting way to look at it. I'm sure they gave you funny looks. I'll have to consider switching my XMR mining PC over to BOINC completely once I reach the next payment threshold.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56