Sort:  

Not sure I said that. I said they will need to be retired. I mean I retired mine around 4 months ago already. DAG file is increasing and most older AMD cards will become unusable and most will take a 30% hit in performance. So you will likely need to move them onto ZEC or retire them.

Don't also forget Ethereum Classic. They will keep rewarding miners forever, not switching to PoS Casper algo. Helping to prolong the profitability of AMD Rx 470/480 if the community and idea stay strong. They got some cool projects going on, some really cool ICO's that don't feel as "scammy" as many of the ETH ones.

I am not biased towards any of the coins, i have mined both and am invested in both, just wanted to make that as a note.

I think many miners will go to ETC, right know it is almost as profitable to mine ETC as ETH, and as miners work towards ROI, we will see what happens in the future. But i think many of the AMD cards will be switched to ETC when Casper hits.

Great post, great that you are helping people get it going!

Peace and Steem on friends. :)

I have never consciously mined ETC because it hasn't really been all that profitable but I have seen my auto switchers mine it now and then. But this is a very good point ETC is actually creeping above ETH for mining returns right now so could be a viable option. I still think it's time to retire those cards going forward, you don't really want to rely on one coin but good backup plan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67002.47
ETH 3459.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65