Regretable comic- Ethereum Mining Proof-of-Stake Paralysis +25 Eth lost!

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

This is a short comic strip I did in February 2016 when the price of Ethereum spike from 3-4$ to 7$.

300531.jpg

I wanted to invest in Ethereum mining rig but never came to it because of a variety of factors, got busy with a new job, I could not make orders online because I was sharing my living space with a thief. However, what bothered me the most was the rumor that Ethereum was gonna switch to a proof-of-stake protocol "soon"... Well, 18 months later and Ethereum is still minable.... Well crap.

Also look like my prediction that Ethereum price would go off the chart was pretty accurate too.

This is all very regrettable. Also, I think that I deleted 25 Ethereum that I managed to get while solo mining. I used a tricky password with the Ethereum Core Wallet because I thought my Ethereum would be valuable but never could recall it. I tried the play around with the wallet file to try to recover my wallet and password but suddenly it disappeared from the core wallet. That's pretty depressing too.

The thing is, I never knew if those Ethereum were valid and where they really came from. I just assume they came for the little bit of mining I did but it was all very complicated to me. I never managed to complete my mining rig because I got screw over with the second-hand PSU and I bought an HDD too small for EthOs.

Soon after, I discovered MinerGate that I use to mine with my main computer with a single GPU. Finally, I could start mining without learning a freaking dictionary about the blockchain and cryptocurrency.

At the time, I wondered if it was really worth it to mine as the daily profit was ridiculous, but with the inflation of the price of cryptocurrency it added up to a nice amount over the time as you can see in my screenshot below.

2017-07-24_09-56-42.jpg

It's certainly nothing very impressive for the cryptocommunity but I'll take that passive 3000$ over and over again. Needless to says that my GPU has paid itself more than once.

Now, I'm thinking about finalizing the mining gig I started building a year ago with that 3000$ I managed to earn. The funny thing is that the cryptocurrency price inflates but computer part stays more or less the same.

By the way, if you want to start mining with me in the Minergate pool you can join by clicking the link right here
https://goo.gl/txFWsD

The team at MinerGate managed to create the simplest mining software that I seem. Still, to this day, I haven't found an easier way to start mining with your own hardware.

Even if you don't have a hardcore gaming computer, you can invite your friend who has and earns a part of MinerGate mining fee for yourself. If you have a lot of friends, it can add up nicely.

As you can see, I made a lot of mistakes but in the end, since I took action, I learned a lot and still managed to be profitable. It was great to finally share my story with a community that can understand what I went through. Thank you!

STEEMIT SIGNATURE.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47