You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ethereum mining profitability

in #mining7 years ago

although power price is very cheaper in my country but I hope ETH price goes higher , but ETH going to POS in couple of months am I right ? even if eth POS ed we can mine ETC and other profitable currencies so I will not sell my rigs

Sort:  

It's the 2% or worse increase in difficulty every day that kills your chance of making an ETH profit - i.e. more than what you could if you just invested the cost of the miner/contract in fiat currency directly into ETH and held it.

So find coins where the fiat price is at least stable but the difficulty is not going through the roof due to a flood of new miners coming online. At least one strategy guide I've read says you should mine new coins and dump as soon as other miners start to flood in, or the price goes down. I've done that with some altcoins a few years back and made maybe $50 in a few days but that was about it - but it was definitely more than the cost of electricity.

DAG epoch is 131 right now I did a benchmark with DAG epoch 199 and it gives me almost half hashrate for each card but I think ETH may POS before DAG epoch 199 , plus I don't have enough experience in trading and long term investments I have to do more researches maybe you are right and I'm just wasting my time and money also valuable electricity power

You can always do what my friends did - take their miners to work and mooch of someone else's free power. It was like they were converting someone else's kWhs of electricity into money, sucking it right out of the wall. I think an awful lot of landlords learned about the dangers of unlimited "power included" deals in their leases when BTC came out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67059.35
ETH 2672.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72