Mine small Marketcap Coins

in #mining6 years ago

sm1.png

I've been mining for six months and I've mined all sorts of coins.

Currently my 4 card rig consisting of 4 GTX 1060's achieves roughly 100mh/s on the ethash algo and 1300 sol/s on the equihash algo. The entire rigs power consumption is ~ 500w

One of the main dilemmas for a miner is what coin to mine. It seems most people just mine Ethereum or Zcash and why not, they are two great coins with a big market cap, excellent teams and a strong support from investors, the prices are high and don't look they're going anywhere anytime soon.

I however have decided to take a different approach with my hash power. I have decided to mine the smaller market cap coins with a smaller difficult and a high return of full coins.

The fact my set up is still very small and my hash rate doesn't go very far mining these giants ETH, ZCASH, XMR etc. Probably affected my decision to do so in the beginning but now I actually see a lot of merit in this strategy.

The name of the game for me is to make as much money as possible and I believe to do so means implementing a higher risk strategy.

For example when I started mining Ethereum was around $300, actually it was lower for a month or so but approximately $300. It's now worth almost $1000 after a big run up this week. It takes me a week to mine 0.1 eth with my 100mh/s so over six months I would mine 2.4 eth.
If I held all of them it would be worth 2.4k and thats being generous in Eths favour.

So to compare to some of the smaller coins I've mined.

UBIQ I can mine 30 per week @ time of mining $1.10 now worth $6.76

Komodo I can mine 15 per week @ time of mining $2.15 now worth $10

Ethereum classic I can mine 1.5 per week @ time of mining $10 now worth $35

At the time each of these coins were making almost the same profit as Ethereum per week but these coins have all increased their market cap by 3.5 - 6 times, in the same amount of time ETH has only tripled it's Marketcap.
Making each of these coins a more profitable decision to have mined until this point.
Also these coins still, relative to ETH, have a small market cap which means they still have a lot of room to grow and can explode in price easier than the likes of ETH.

UBIQ and ETC that I've mentioned above can dual mine with PASC another small market cap coin that I mine which has went from $0.30 to $4.65 in the same time frame. So out of the list of coins I've mentioned the most profitable coins to have mined over the last 6 months would have been UBIQ + PASC both very small market cap coins that exploded in the last month.
Actually double the profitability of mining Ethereum and since these coins have exploded I personally take some profit to reduce variance and buy the top market cap coins. BTC, ETH etc. Also some of the POS coins that cant be mined QTUM, NEO etc.

So I suggest everyone point some of their hash power towards these small market cap coins, and take profit once you have made more than the everyday ETH & ZCash miners.

It is a higher risk strategy but if you want to make more than everyone else you have to do something different.

Take a look at some of the smaller market cap coins that have big potential.. Electroneum (ETN) or LUX coin are two I'm interested in at the minute.
ETN https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/electroneum/
LUX https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/luxcoin/

Leave a comment below if you think there is merit in mining these two coins or If you've had success mining any of the smaller market cap coins.

Sort:  

Hello @g4gold You have some nice home rigs. :) For how long you have them? Are you in profits?

I bought some ETN when it was ICO. The price was 0,01 dollars..now it's around 0,08 dollars. I am in good profit now..but I will wait. I am long term investor.

I think that you also need this. Mine some coins, but don't sell them..wait to get higher. All coins will rise this year.

Best from Serbia.

I've already mined 1000 ETN started last week going to mine it for a few months while its still young then hold for the long term. Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64268.35
ETH 3499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51