Update: Downloading the blockchain now ... maybe

in #mining8 years ago

I woke up a bit confused.
I had compiled Steemd alright, but lost all resync progress.

I found help in the chatlogs of:
https://steemit.chat/channel/mining

I'm now downloading the blockchain from @gandalf aka @gtg

I'm still not sure what I'm actually downloading, but it's called block_log ...

I hope that works.

I also saw in chat that someone is dominating the miner queue again with multiple miners.
This time with random names (?).


Image taken from steemdb.com

So even if I get this going, I'm late again.

Since there isn't a good alternative for CPU-mining, I will try anyways.

Sort:  

DId it work?

Is CPU mining possible / viable now? I remember mentioning equihash ...

I fell asleep while watching the progress (no joke) and my computer also went into standby, killing the VM. I changed a line in the config.ini and it's replaying again now.

I'm back at 25%

Eh. Good luck.

I was thinking of trying to mine some steem - for the first time. I finally got a new desktop with i7 and 32 GB of RAM. That's why I am asking about CPU mining :)

I got two blocks some weeks ago with i3 and 16 GB of cheap RAM.
Maybe you should try ...

refresh takes ages though - still at 60%

If you know what they mean, try these:

sudo mount -o remount,size=9G /dev/shm
./steemd --shared-file-dir "/dev/shm/" --replay

It will finish in about 10 minutes.
(remember to set enable-plugin = witness in config.ini before that)

Thanks !

No, I don't know what that means :D
I will have to try anyways - I'm still waiting at ~90%
That's not an option.

enable-plugin = witness 

I looked that up before ...
It's set by default, isn't it ?

If that was meant to create a new partition (?) it didn't work - the miner still shows me the same amount of free memory. (?)

I found out however, that it's much faster replaying the blocks a second time. Just up to the point where I was stuck.

I had to restart anyways - I was using the active key and I learned today it's supposed to be the posting key.

All guides on Steemit are wrong about that part.

Check my new post: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@abit/best-practice-running-steemd-v0-16-0

//Edit: in regards to the keys, it should be "signing key" for block producing and "active key" for submitting PoW. I won't explain it in detail here, you need to learn by yourself (also the replay thing).

If there were any sources, I'd be eager to learn, but other than trying, there isn't an option,

Thanks anyways.

//Edit: in regards to the keys, please check steemit.chat/channel/mining and scroll up two pages.
You will find @bitcoiner stating: 'active key is not involved in mining at all'
Since I saw him in the queue a few times, I thought that was how it is then ...

It's replaying now (what ever that means) - I'm at ~50% ...

The download worked.
I'm not sure, if mining works for me, though.

Once I find a block, I'll blog about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54