TIFU Compiling Steemd

in #mining8 years ago (edited)

My computer was up all night to resync the Steem blockchain.
After 6 hours it was at block 4.600.000.
I then interrupted that and tried to restart it ...

I'm now back at block 0

Not good:

./steemd --resync 

Better:

./steemd --replay

However, it would be much easier if I just downloaded the blockchain externally.

I still haven't figured out, why there is no database directory in my steemd folder.
Screenshot for explanation.
This was the problem 3 months ago and I made no progress.
There is no folder, no blockchain file and if I reboot Ubuntu the downloaded progress will be gone.

In fact, I got this far on the first try to compile this.

Oh yeah and btw the trick with the new version 0.16 is:

It has to be boost 16.

I gave up trying to run boost 16 with ubuntu 14.04.1 - With Ubuntu 16.04 it was very easy.
I'm resyncing again now, but this isn't fun.

Where did the blockchain go :) ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61098.42
ETH 2470.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64