ET can't phone home: Why proof of work is wrong

in #mining6 years ago

I usually do not really write about news stories but found this one to hard to resist...

As I was reading up on all things crypto I came across this article:
https://www.ccn.com/cryptocurrency-mining-stopping-us-finding-aliens-critics-claim/

So this is another reason to prove that:

PROOF OF WORK COINS ARE NOT THE FUTURE

LONG LIVE (DELEGATED) PROOF OF STAKE

Due to the high demand of GPU chips these researchers cannot optimise their work to find alien signals...

So if ET's parents are calling him he cannot answer because the he cannot build the proper receiver

image.png

All the good chips will have been taken by miners and the poor alien would have just died, the movie would have changed forever...

So the faster all these coins switch from their proof of work to
proof of something that does not require the electricity of a country to run

OR

they could all just come to Steem and be done with it...

what do you guys think on the topic:
either aliens or proof of stake/work count as this topic

Sort:  

this article makes sense . but proof of work will rule for a while then only the proof of stake will start.

I feel bad for the scientists (and kinda would like to find out that we are not alone but that there are only friendly aliens out there) but am just in general against the proof of work because of the waste
I am happy that a lot of networks are moving away from it or at least have plans to

I really like your creative approach to this question. I don't want ET to die either. Yes everybody should come to Steem. I have not understood "proof of stake" till just now. Yes to aliens. Thanks for this post, peace and safety.

peace and safety to you as well, happy to bring a bit of understanding

elon.jpg

Interesting question. Proof of something?
How about proof of life?
I am therefore I mine ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59