You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basic Guide: Mining Ethereum with RX400/RX500 GPUs

in #mining7 years ago

Hello sfoo8, first thank you for your tutorial, it is really good! I have made a 6x rig with 2 x of SAPPHIRE NITRO OC RX 470 4GB and 4 x SAPPHIRE PULSE RX 580 8GB. Ive modified the ROM in windows and then I simply connected all to ethOS. It looks everything ok, some hashrates are not so good, 470 cards are in 25 mh/s and 580 are in 27 mh/s, perhaps i have to rework the bios... The issue is that after a couple of hours 1 gpu stops hashing, and is not allways the same one... ive read that this happend to other people and they are assuming is because of the ethOS... any thoughts about this? I will really apretiate your help.
Best Regards! Eddie

Sort:  

Hi eddies, from the mh/s you've reported, it reminded me of a GPU that had the GPU clock and memory clock modded but not the memory timings. To get to +/- 30mh/s, you'd need to have memory timings and memory clock adjusted at least. GPU clock at stock is fine but if you want to reduce power consumption , you should down clock the GPU.

Regarding the 1 GPU stopping after some time, I have seen that as well. I resolved it by switching out the USB riser that I used.

Have fun!

Hi jsfoo8, I FINALLY GOT IT!
I flashed the BIOS again with some rom found in a forum, and now its working really nice. What was surprising to me was that ive got more mh/s with core clock @ 1250 and mem clock @ 2150. After doing that i was @30 mh/s, but only using claymore miner instead of the default ethos miner. So now ive got my 6 gpus doing in total 178 mh/s. Your article helped A LOT!
Hope u keep writing m8.

Best regards!

eddies can you please post a link to the rom you found in forum? i am having big issues trying to understand how to flash and mod BIOS for a Rx580. I am only getting 25 mH/s now on Ethosminer. Or if OP can please post a youtube video it would help tremendously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64