Miner repair (we have a short)

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Today I have time so I'm going to closely inspect all the mining components and see why this thing keeps shutting off.20180316_094314.jpg
After a close inspection, I noticed there was a short and some of the power cables were burnt at the adapter plugging into an AMD RX 580 as shown.
20180316_094258.jpg
20180316_094236.jpg
I was lucky for a couple of reasons, one being everything is booting up and there is nothing broken on the miner, and the damage was big enough on the adapter that it was found. Sometimes a short can be very hard to find.
Now that we have that out of the way we are going to boot The Miner just to reboot it into safe mode so we can uninstall all video drivers nice and clean to plug in a couple of more RX 560 and reinstall all our drivers and get mining with six video cards and a badass CPU!
20180316_094304.jpg
Now I'm going to show you a little tour around the miner, let you see how I've got it put together with the adapters on a 7ft tall server rack.
20180316_102426.jpg
20180316_102145.jpg
20180316_103252.jpg
20180316_103205.jpg
20180316_103553.jpg
Now that you have completed the tour we will install drivers, Photography and Miner fans you might as well leave now, the rest is for nerds.
Let me see which drivers would you use?
20180316_102857.jpg
That's right the same ones I chose, blockchain drivers! Even after talking to some Nerds I had to find this one myself, but that's okay my inner nerd took over and took care of business.
20180316_102937.jpg
20180316_103345.jpg
All installed now it's time to restart.
20180316_104053.jpg
Drivers are successfully installed and looking good as you can see in the speed fan program.
20180316_105517.jpg
Now it's time to open the miner and start benchmarking.
20180316_105631.jpg
Thank you for tuning in, benchmarking is very slow so after we are mining again I will post a video on dtube showing you my progress.

Sort:  

you can fixed this problem alone ? i thing this so difficult to solve... good job !!!

Just takes attention to details!

haha, he said he has a short xD
scnr
/childish humor off

Informative!! Can we mine any coin that we want?

Just about, depends on your hardware and what software you're mining with. With the processor I can mine XMR or Aion and with the video cards I can mine etherium and decred at the same time or other coins many others. I am paid in Bitcoin so this program nicehash changes what I mine as profitability changes and pays me in Bitcoin. I am fine with this because I can buy any coins I want with Bitcoin very easily and I own many altcoins and no Bitcoin.

1.it seems bitcoin mining is tough now-a-days. There is one this coin called AI . Before one month price was around 15$ but today its price is around 0.01$ . will it not be more profitable and easy than mining bitcoin?
2.What is your miner cost,where can we buy this and other hardware safeguarding appliances cost and what is the time for your ROI.
3.Do you know some companies which provide good hardwares at affordable price?
4.What is the area of installation

To mine a specific coin and not being in a pool mining with other people you would have to download node software and become a node on that specific coin and unless you had impressive Hardware you might never get it token, maybe yes on that one you're talking about but I do not know.
All of this mining equipment with the power accessories and everything it was close to $7,000. The coins are down so much right now and difficulty has gone up so my time for repayment is about 2 years, if the coins blow up that changes a lot.
The hardware is actually hard to find and the price is constantly going up making it nearly impossible. I am however researching alternative solutions.

Yes & no program I use mines multiple coins depending on what is the most profitable yet it pays out in Bitcoin.

I'm a student now. I'm into various cloud mining websites and increasing my GHS power from the free coins they provide from the different faucets to mine different coins,but that doesn't seem to be profitable. so i'm thinking of starting my own hardware to mine coins. I will try to set up one when bitcoin price goes down by too much. I think this is the time. Bitcoin price may go down below 5000$ after google officially announced that it is going to ban crypto ads on its platform. So i'm waiting for the right time. Meanwhile I'm also collecting free coins from different faucets. You can check out my post on crypto bloodbath. I have written this post after some research and observation. Comments and suggestions are welcomed.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrencies/@kpreddy/crypto-bloodbath-continues-for-further-months

You're a very smart student and even though the mining may not seem profitable it will be and you will see a great reward when the coin start going up again, it may take a while but as you said if things do drop in the price look to get better priced mining contracts possibly? The hardware to mine is so hard to find an always sold out and it's just very difficult. I almost want to sell my minor because I can make more than what I spent on it back which would take me over 2 years if I keep Mining and I could buy coin wallets down and maybe capitalize a bit better. I'm not selling because I am thinking of becoming a witness and possibly mining for Steem, did you notice the lag today?
What do you think?
https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=dynamicrypto&approve=1

Top coins are stable today ....not much down as of now...but high volumes are traded..

If you searched what is a witness I'm sure the video you'll be find will help you better than me but it's my understanding it's the people that mine steemit and host or lease the servers. If I became one I would not least anyting I would host it all myself and ensure it's running always.

I will check video....and I'm unable to vote to you...it's showing error after signing in...Screenshot_20180317-194032.png

Thanks for trying, I may need to start mining before I am eligible for votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76