You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Step Into the Ether pt.3: Evolution of Mining Rig Design (Scaling Up)

in #mining7 years ago

cool stuff. sorry my upvote isnt worth what it was a few days ago, my 1 month SP rental ran out, haha.

i'd love to hear more about cooling, liquid cooling, and details about how you handle heat. that, along with electricity costs and access, seems to me to be the biggest and most difficult issue when scaling up from one rig to multiple rigs.

Sort:  

Thanks again! A lot of cooling optimization is affected by your physical location. Summer was rough, it's a lot more expensive to maintain your hashrate with warmer ambient temperatures.

I chose to operate in NC rather than CA because of weather and electricity prices. (I also got a sweet deal on commercial space)

Electricity access can be a major issue, for my setup I had to purchase my own dedicated transformer for a 120 sq-ft. space (not cheap)! But when you customize your space, you get options like integrally surge-protected outlets for the whole setup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48