My Mining Farm

in #mining7 years ago

I started mining during the recent gold rush of June/July, and there was a lot I didn't know back then. 

My farm consists of 48 GTX 1070's and 16 GTX 1060's - you can checkout my NiceHash page to see current hash rates and earnings. The total investment is around 32k and it costs $1200/month or $40/day to host it in the data center. It will take awhile to get my investment back, but the cash flow economics are still very good in my opinion. Not to mention the hardware has strong resale value. 

Right now I'm using Claymore 9.8 dual mining Ethereum + Decred using a NiceHash wallet. By not using the NiceHash client, I avoid the annoying algorithm switches and I had some stability issues that came up on a couple machines. I may be paying 1-2% more in fees versus mining to traditional pools, but the convenience of being paid in Bitcoin is a positive for me. Plus, it was difficult to find a Decred pool I liked. Suprnova is the largest and my earnings there never matched up with what I calculated I should be making. Thus, the convenience and transparency of NiceHash are in my opinion more than worth any trade off, if there is one at all. 

What's Next?

I plan to do an article discussing the differences between just buying bitcoin or ethereum and mining it. I will also talk about whether or not I plan to invest additional capital into mining going forward. I would love to read your thoughts on mining and if anyone has some pictures they would like to share of their mining farms I'd enjoy seeing them. 

Sort:  

That is very nice man!! such a beast!

thanks. I enjoy working on it for sure

baller deal you have for hosting!

indeed. it is cheaper than paying for electricity in some places

Dual mining is bad on 1060 at least when I checked it took more eth profit than it gave with decred.

You should try ethminer it is free of fees and only needs one more program to restart it, after that just sit back and watch your eth increase.

Also it is optimised for 1060.

What hash rate do you get on 1060 mining eth only? Im getting 21 per with dual mining and 560 on decred

It always jumps but in the middle now 49.9 from 2 cards samsung memory. Usually it is around 48 tho.

2 cent difference per day. Im using simple mining OS so all machines have to run the same miner. But i agree, eth only appears marginally better for 1060

Cool setup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86