Adventures in Mining | Volume 5

in #mining7 years ago

The farm has expanded!

20170623_182231.jpg

With my initial purchase, an XFX RX 480 pumping out sweet sweet internet monies, I decided I wanted to expand the operation! Challenge of course is always finding more cards! I scour Craigslist and the Facebook Marketplace each day to try and find someone local selling cards, as finding a new one in stock is like finding the fountain of youth!! I live in a metro area just big enough that finding cards is possible, but rare...

I came across a listing on Craigslist for an MSI R9 270 and Asus R9 270X, $100 each or $175 for the pair. After running them thru some calculators, it seemed like $175 for the pair would yield a pretty nice ROI. Quick phone call later, I had a time set to pick them up, and I was the proud owner of two older, but still capable cards:

20170623_182155.jpg

I had an old dual core AMD FX chip rig in the house, and decided that would be these guys' new home. As you can see from the first pic in this post, I'm certainly pushing the limits of the power supply they're attached to! And, by God, how did I ever build a rig with that hideous green motherboard in the past??? LOL

Since this bad boy has a way outdated nVidia nForce chipset, it took some massaging to get two AMD cards to play nice in the system! But, after about two hours of wrasslin' with it, it was up and running:

20170623_182204.jpg

Those puppies are pushing out about $4 USD a day on NiceHash! With an initial investment of $175, that's only a little over a month to break even, which I don't think is too bad at all! Certainly a quicker ROI than the RX 480 I bought for $300!! Here's my current stats at NiceHash:

It fluctuates currently between $9.50 and $10.50 a day at the moment... It's still kind of surreal to me to be creating magic internet monies from electricity!! What a time to be alive!

This is the last rig I had capable of accepting more video cards however... So my next investment will be in a standalone dedicated rig, ideally with 6 slots to mine with 6 cards on a single mobo!

I'd love your suggestions on ways to improve my efficiency with my setup, pools or anything else that you think would be helpful!

Happy Mining!

Sort:  

Man! this is sick, I am big into genesis mining but I should really jump on this own rig situation, here in the bay area tech parts are easy to come by. Shit, nvidia is down the street haha

I'd love some easy to come by parts!! I feel like a vulture scouring the interwebs for components!! LOL

Honestly, I have thought about reaching out to all of my clients with a list of what is needed to mine and just "craigslist" style sell it on here haha

What are some cards that people buy? Seriously, ill ask around.

If it's got an AMD logo on it, and it was made in the last 4 years, people will pay a premium for em, perhaps a large premium! Nvidia cards not so much

Well sifting through 25 pages of graphics cards will take some time lol, Im not educated enough in this yet.

Where are there 25 pages of GPUs at???

craigslist in the bay area, one thing is on there most people don't ship, they want you to pick it up in person with cash. you are right though, some ranging from 50 bucks to 400 bucks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66