Mining Ethereum With a GIGABYTE Radeon RX 460 WF OC 4GB

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody,

the current hype of mining Ethereum has left many cards to be sold out. In my country it seems that Radeon's RX 470/480/570/580 cards will be deliverable again in a few months.

However, I find that there is an alternative card : the RX 460.

Currently I am in an absolute test setup and wanted to share my findings with you guys. For that purpose I have set up a rig containing 2 RX460's and one R9 390.

IMG-20170615-WA0006.jpeg

Using Claymore's dual miner I get the following hashrates mining Ethereum and Pascalcoin.
GPU 0/1 : RX460
GPU2 : R9 390

Mining.png

Now lets get down to some numbers.
RX460 Power Usage is maximally 75W.
The Hashrate is ~11.5MH/s for Ethereum.
The Hashrate is ~102MH/s for Pascalcoin
Power in my country is roughly 0.2 $.

Using https://www.cryptocompare.com/mining/calculator/eth we can calculate that this card yields 52€ per month worth of Ethereum.
Using https://www.cryptocompare.com/mining/calculator/pasc we can calculate that this card yields 7,65€ per month worth of Pascalcoin.

With a basic price of 117€ we can have its price buying price back in ~59 days at the current Ethereum/Pascalcoin difficulty.

Conclusion

Due to the current impediment in delivering better cards like the RX470/480 series I believe the RX 460 to be a valid alternative. I am very aware of the risks connected to mining. Some of those are :

  • Rising difficulty : Everyday a little less Ethereum is created, for instance, I have purchased 30MH/s worth of cloud mining at Genesis. Last week I received ~0.018 Eth daily, today it already is at ~0.0017 Eth

  • Card failure : Due to the stress to the graphics cards one may stop to work at any time leaving you profitless.

  • Ethereums Proof of Stake (PoS) switch : Once Ethereum changes their Proof of Work System in which mining is possible to PoS you will not be able to mine Eth anymore.

  • Price fluctuation : If Ethereums price falls, or crashes permanently, you will lose money.

I hope I was able to offer you some nice information on the RX460. You can gladly ask me any questions regarding my setup, or whatever else you wish to know :)

Thanks for reading my first post on here!
All the best,
Thomas

Sort:  

Thanks for the info. I get about the same results, maybe slightly better, with my GTX1050 Ti, for what it's worth.

To be honest the greatest thing about this is the fun part in building the rig :) it's a really cool thing you get money out of hot air - good luck with your rig!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44