Mining Rig Build Log - #2

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Plan and Frame Build

Following the concept stage of the build yesterday, I have since created a 3D model to plan out the rig and started to cut my steel! I am certain that the design will work as I have tried and tested it on another rig, but as today was a typical Saturday and I woke up around 8am (never get a long lie!) I was at somewhat of a loose end and decided to build the model for completeness' sake! It also gives you guys a better idea as to what I am aiming for towards the end of the build which will be completed in a few days time.

Link to Part 1
Link to Part 3
Link to Part 4

Some of the parts you see on the model below are placeholders (i.e. the mobo, gpus and SSD) don't correlate exactly with the compenents I will be using, but I wasn't feeling up for the challenge of building all these small parts from scratch, so just used whatever the SketchUp library had to offer and modified them a little!


Rig.png

(Image: Sketchup model of the frame to give an overview of the layout and size of the rig.)


(Image: My dad taking a shot at cutting some steel. We both buffed off the rust on the SHS pieces before this stage.)


(Image: After cutting the main support for the gpus, I drilled mounting holes at regular centres to match the fixing slots on the graphics cards themselves. I made up a basic jig and used the pillar drill in order to keep everything consistent.)


(Image: The rough edges were buffed down after cutting and prepped for welding.)


(Image: Once the different members are cut, they are held together using a magnetic set square to keep everything plumb and level for welding.)


(Image: The front "goalpost" frame is ready. Just need to make the rear and weld on the sidebars to finish up the frame!)


For anyone just joining me on this post, the rig will be assembled using the following components.

Parts list recap:


  • CPU: Intel Pentium G3240, 3.1GHz
  • RAM: 8GB Crucial DDR3, 1600Mhz
  • Mobo: ASRock H81 Pro BTC
  • PSU: 850watt Corsair RM850i
  • Disk: 120gb Sandisk SSD
  • PCIE Risers: Powered 1x to 16x - Elegiant
  • GPU: 3GB Palit Nvidia GTX 1060's

I have heard of another miner using 6x 1060's who is only drawing around 500 watts from their rig. This if fantastic news for my build and confirms the choice of my 850w PSU. A power draw of around 500w will be right around the peak on the efficiency curve for my chosen power supply, so I am a happy chappy!

Now, enough typing. I better get back and keep making this thing, I have plenty left to be getting on with, but keep watch for more updates along with any hiccups or snags I hit along the way!

(Image: Still a fair bit of welding to do!)

Stay tuned for more rig building tonight or tomorrow and as always, if you have any questions or feedback do let me know!

Link to Part 1
Link to Part 3
Link to Part 4

Cheers!

A.

Sort:  

Great work some people thought miners sit ideal and gpu do the work they should see our efforts and research we do for mining nice post.

Nice work! This is going to be one nice rig when it's completed.

how it work !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97