Open Air Mining Rig ----Build for a compact 6 card mining setup

in #mining8 years ago

I built this rig with aluminum stock I purchased along with some aluminum I re-purposed from an old window frame. The cards are low power and only draw 30-50 watts per card under load and I am using powered and non powered risers together. I drilled holes in the plexiglass and screwed in brass standoffs in order to mount the motherboard firmly to the plexiglass. I used rivets in most cases and nuts and bolts  in locations that require occasional re-positioning such as the GPU base. The total cost for the frame only came out to about $20 or less. I mainly did this post to gauge interest in custom open air mining rig build information. I have many different open air rig builds and am currently converting a 4u server to a high airflow gpu case. This is an old build and the cards will be replaced will current generation gpus and three fans will be mounted in the rear to help dissipate heat. If you have any questions or would like more posts about builds let me know in the comments.

I used zip ties to secure the power supply

View from above, you can see how easy it is to move around, everything is secure.

Powered and non powered pcie risers

View from the rear

Sort:  

Nice! What crypto you are mining on them?

Monero at the moment, but I used to do Ethereum on them in the early command line days of Ethereum and before the larger dag sizes. Monero pulls about 250-300 watts at the wall for these cards, so its cool and quiet as temperatures outside get warmer. I can also do zcash, but it is not as good as current generation cards, so I stick with mostly Monero on Linux.

That's a funny coincidence you are posting this now. Just today I searched for hours to find the hardware I want to use to build my first altcoin-mining-rig.
Cool setup you got there. What cards exactly are you using? I found three cards that have a good (Efficency*Hashrate)/Price ratio. Not sure if it actually is a great investment, but seems like a pretty cool hobby to me. ; )
I may be posting about my setup someday.
My tip is ZCL (ZCash classic) mining at the moment.
Also, what's your Monero Hash (sol?) rate?

These cards are the older generation gtx 750 ti about 1800 h/s for a 6 card rig setup with a slight overclock on the memory. They pull 250 watts or so for all six cards, so you wont make much daily but they do not cost much to operate and I have had them for years. I have both AMD and Nvidia setups old and new running on linux, so if you tell me what your goal is and what cards you are looking at I can give you my opinion. I would never look at mining as an investment, in the beginning you have a big learning curve so think of it as a hobby for the first year.

That's so cool!
The GTX 750 is actually one of the top3 I found to be most profitable even today.
The Radeon RX460 has about the same power consuption but is a little faster an cheaper. Like the GTX it only uses 1 slot space.
Then there is the RX480 which is pretty fast, but also has the typical horrible power consuptions (and heat emission) that most modern cards have. It uses 2 slot space.
Which I found very interesting on a side note is the
NVIDIA Quadro K1200. It's expensive and even a little slower in 3D benchmarks than the GTX, but has a very low power consumption. It might have a good hash-rate, though, I couldn't find any data about it.
As for the mainboard (motherboard in English?) I found two 7 slot ASUS boards which look very promising. I plan on putting 3x cards directly onboard and 4 somewhere else using extension cords.
May I ask how much you pay for 1 kwh?
For now, I need some sleep. xD

Tell you what, give me a few days and I will put together some info in a post with pictures, etc. I will be able to steer you in a good direction with some of my recommendations and links to forums with these exact topics.

That would be awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83