You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Easily Mine With Your Computer and Get More Steem, A Guide for People Not Into Crypto Currencies

in #mining8 years ago

Helpful, although I could have used it a few months ago lol.

I have a crappy miner running on nicehash and making me about $2 a day. I'm planning on making another one but I'm not sure on what GPUs I should get, I am thinking gtx 970s but I am not sure about those. You know any good ones? (Those are along with an amd on nicehashes mining intro page and the other one draws too much power for my house lol)

Sort:  

The GTX 970 is not bad at all, however it is already a bit old. So you might want to consider going for GTX 1070 instead. The problem is that with the currently most profitable algorithms AMD has the lead in terms of price/performance - ETH and ZEC, hopefuy Nvidia will catch up in terms of performance, but it is still higher priced.

the gtx 970 had a major flaw (when you get into last 500 MB of memory the memory speed halves) and never became too expensive so I can get for about $250 while the 1070 is like 400. For the cost it is equal to amd in terms of mining speed but draws less power.

It still has the problem with slower speed at the last block of video memory, but that never affected gaming performance muh anyway and is not a problem for mining at all. If you can get a good deal on GTX 970 then go for it, one crypto currency that does work better on Nvidia to check - LBRY.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54