Manual or auto mining crypto ? My experience so far.

in #mining7 years ago

miner-157100_1280.png
(PIXABAY.COM)

Hey everyone,

I wanted to make a little post about manual or auto mining. Mainly about how I came to choose manual mining.

Now, this is just a basic little article about the two rather than something you should be making life changing decision with but you get the idea.

I recently got into mining so this may just help out the newcomers such as myself get a little better understanding of the mining world.

I had an old little GTX 660 GPU lying in my pc just being unused except for the little gaming that I do so I wanted to see if I could really get some coins out of mining with it. I knew from the get go that I wouldn't be producing massive results with the GPU nor was I getting rich anytime soon but it was a start I thought.

I originally started with NICEHASH MINER which honestly, if you don't want to be putting in the effort to do your research and just want to mine some COINS. Then go for it. It is super easy to set up.

Download - > Install - > Let it benchmark your gear with the algorithms it has pre-installed and then it will automatically start mining the most profitable coin, convert it into Bitcoin and transfer it to you once you reach the minimum payout amount as soon as you click that sweet little start icon.

You don't need to know jacksh*t about programming or any of the complicated stuff. So if that's the easy going life you want. Be my guest because it will do exactly that.

Now on the other hand. I, myself, wanted to see if I could maybe be doing better with the GPU I have and maybe squeeze out them extra fractions of a coin. Which to me would be EPIC. Considering, I have nothing better to do with my time aha.

So I did just that. I went on some forums and started looking at alternative miners that are out there where I could be mining different coins and I ended up on the zcash miner: EWBF MINER

Now, this was relatively easy to set up, as opposed to what I had thought and it got me interested because the people on some forums had been telling me they had been getting slightly better payouts with the miner.

I then proceeded to find a recommended download file of the miner and started reading the read me file to get the whole shibang set up.

It was relatively easy just took some time to get an understanding of how the dev. put together the download.

I had to join a pool, get a worker set up, get zcash address from my wallet, and input some information about the pool I joined into the program and just had to run it.

It was pretty simple once I understood the process and it even has cool features to personalize the whole thing to your computer such as lowering the max temperature your GPU gets to and the intensity at which it mines.

Now the results. To my surprise, though it was still tiny in comparison to the pros of the field. I was mining almost 4x as much as I was with Nicehash. Which to me was a pleasant suprise but hey, guess my GPU just got along real swell with the EWBF miner.

Now there are lots of things to take into consideration so be sure to do some research about the matter before diving head deep thinking to make a killing off of mining. Things like electricity cost are important since you may just end up paying more for your bills than you get mining so be sure to check out websites that can help you calculate these costs. There are also different types coin you can mine so checking out which is most profitable may do you some good.

Now based off this, you can decide for yourself what type of mining you want to though give yourself some time to get an understanding of how things work as you may just face a bucketload of sh*t in some cases, like I did setting up some of these different miners.

Aside from that, this was my little story on setting up my first manual miner.

Hope you enjoyed reading and here have an intense banana.

suit-673697_1280.jpg
(PIXABAY.COM YOU SO AWESOME)

NICEHASH : https://www.nicehash.com/

EWBF : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1707546.0

Sort:  

Congratulations @acedt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40