How you can reduce stress with a less is more lifestyle.

in #minimalist8 years ago

I am constantly looking for the new tech "thing" my evenings are filled with checking out the latest gadgets online or watching the latest video on Youtube about flying cars. I grew up in the Star Trek era and as a little boy, my eyes would light up when I heard the terms, photon torpedos or tricorder. So my ears perked up when I started to hear the term minimalist. What is it? Is it a new tech savvy home security system or a talking car? Neither. Minimalist doesn't have anything to do really with a new tech gadget. Well sorta. So I started researching online and came across minimalist wallets. As I drooled over my computer screen looking at the slim designs, color coded bands and sleek material. My old faithful bulky wallet was sitting on the coffee table giving me the side eye. I felt guilty because I was virtually cheating on my old billfold but I knew sooner or later I would take the plunge. I finally ordered the new wallet and when I got home ripped open the package, pulling all of my cards out of my old wallet, casually tossing it to the side and stuffing the cards into the new wallet. In my old wallet, I had close to twelve cards. But the new wallet forced me to make a decision. Did I really need twelve cards?

Minimalist wallets only allow you to carry between 1-8 cards and a little cash. So out with the movie stubs, receipts from Wal-mart and year old parking tags. With the minimalist wallet you can barely feel it in your pocket. This could be a bad thing if you are forgetful. A few times I panicked when I felt my pocket and couldn't sense my wallet. It was there but I was used to a bigger bulge.

As I cut it down to three cards plus my drivers license. I actually felt a new sense of freedom. No more fumbling at the store counter for the right card or sitting uncomfortably on the "bulge" I think I can get used to this
"Minimalist " thing.

For years I carried bulky wallets around in my front pocket or back pocket. So I'm a geeked 51 year old about the new minimalist wallets that are out these days....I know its corny but cool!

Sort:  

I did a similar move when I got my new smart phone. I finally ditched my old clunky wallet and cut down to one that holds the phone, four cards and has barely enough room for cash. I just got tired of carrying around keys, phone and big wallet. It has been working great so far!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61178.84
ETH 2749.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45